Skip to content

The Full Yield

April 15, 2010

Do you ever have those days where you make an amazing meal, but you have no idea what to say about it? You don’t know where the inspiration came from, or why you paired ingredients together except for the fact they were in your fridge? This meal is like that. Today is the last spring-like day before the weekend, when rain is supposed to fall all over Boston, and I wanted something light and fresh.

Z had an event this evening, so I was eating by myself and could have easily gone with takeout or a grilled cheese sandwich. But this week at work is the beginning of The Full Yield, a new healthy living initiative we are participating in. Their philosophy is incredible: eat health supporting foods and eliminate health depleting ones. You will feel better and be happier. It couldn’t be simpler than that šŸ™‚ They encourage eating whole foods: vegetables, fruit, lean meats, dairy and whole grains.Ā  The goal is to spend the first three months of the program eating only health supporting foods, and then see how you feel. The program is very much about self-realization and understanding what your body is telling you. Since their food philosophy is right in line with the way I already try to eat, I couldn’t make my first dinner while participating something full of processed food and unhealthy fats.

I am so supportive of health initiatives at work. Having a team environment is incredibly encouraging, and The Full Yield works for everyone, whether you are “healthy” already or not. Already we are having pedometer challenges and thinking of doing a pot luck where people bring in recipes from the website. Whether you are the healthiest eater out there or if you eat McDonald’s 4 times a week, there is always room for education and encouragement. Everyone at work is excited about this new program, and I am happy to be a part of it!

So, in honor of beginning my Full Yield journey, I took whole foods from my fridge and made a fresh and tasty feast.

Zucchini and Polenta Stacks with Dill Scrambled Eggs

2 slices of prepared polenta

1/8 cup Parmesan cheese

3 inch piece of zucchini, sliced thinly lenthwise

2 tablespoons tomato paste

1 tablespoon sour cream

1/2 teaspoon garlic

1/4 cup water

Salt and pepper

2 eggs

1 tablespoon fresh dill

2 tablespoons milk

Salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 400*

Spray an oven proof dish and lay the polenta on it. Top evenly with the cheese, salt and pepper. Put in the oven for 20 minutes.

In a small saucepan, mix the tomato paste, sour cream, water, garlic, salt and pepper. Bring to a simmer and season to taste.

Take the zucchini slices and lightly fry them in a little Pam, about 2 minutes on each side.

Remove polenta from the oven. Put a piece on a plate. Top with a spoon of tomato sauce, a slice of zucchini, more sauce, another zucchini, once more with the sauce and top with another slice of polenta. Repeat with the rest of the polenta and zucchini.

In a small bowl, mix the eggs, milk, dill, salt and pepper. Cook in the same pan you cooked the zucchini in. Place between the two polenta stacks.

The polenta stacks were like little lasagnas, slightly cheesy and creamy with the sour cream, but light and healthful. I love that polenta is gluten free, with an amazing and interesting texture, and a flavor that goes perfectly with Parmesan cheese. I felt that the stacks were similar to something I would eat at a brunch which is why I went with eggs for the protein, and it worked well! The crispy outside of the polenta was fabulous with the soft eggs. It could also have worked with chicken, shrimp, or another light meat or seafood. Thank, Full Yield, for encouraging me to cook a meal that turned out so well!

Have you ever participated in a health initiative at work?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 7:24 pm

    Fancy!! Those look amazing!! I love polenta, but don’t make it nearly enough.

    I agree, I think health initiatives in the workplace are an excellent idea!! I wish my school was better about promoting healthy eating, especially among the staff members. There is always so much JUNK provided at meetings, it is ridiculous.

  2. April 16, 2010 7:34 am

    Polenta is my favourite food, hands down.

  3. April 16, 2010 6:53 pm

    What a cool program! I like it a lot better than say, the Biggest Loser program my work has. In that sort of thing there is no opportunity for people who don’t need to lose weight, but certainly could stand to improve health otherwise.

  4. April 16, 2010 10:15 pm

    What a cool program – you’ve inspired me šŸ™‚ I love your polenta stacks too – so cute and tasty!

  5. April 17, 2010 6:23 pm

    These are very creative – and delicious looking! I really love polenta! It is so versatile. I think it’s great you have something like this at work – in a supportive environment.

Leave a Reply

