Skip to content

Marathon Monday!

April 19, 2010

Hi all, I spent this Monday morning in the comfort of my living room and pajamas. Life is good 🙂 Happy Patriot’s Day! Despite the awful rain over the weekend it is beautiful here today, and my afternoon was spent in Copley Square, watching the runners come in and celebrating with my friends.

Ever since Z and I started pancake day back in January I realize I’ve been a little sloppy. Yes, we have had some creative (and delicious!) ideas, but I have not yet tackled making my own pancakes from scratch. But whats worse, I have no reason why! I am the #1 subscriber to “everything should be made from scratch” but a box of pancake mix, just an egg and some milk away from glory, always finds its way into my shopping cart. That is, until this weekend.

I can’t say I planned to make my own pancakes this weekend, but forgetting to purchase a very important ingredient (pancake mix) forced the challenge upon me. What’s more, I didn’t even have any gluten free flour on hand. What I did have was some GF oats, so I hunted my way through the internet to find an amazing recipe for oatmeal pancakes. Cara’s healthy pancake recipe inspired me and, while the mix look like something (as Z put it) “that you put on chicken pox” the result was quite impressive.

I also discovered the beauty of making your own flour. While my friends with Vitamixes have no problem grinding up some rice or dried corn, my blender of the Target variety has never let me do so. In comparison to corn and rice, oats are quite soft, so about 4 minutes in my blender a cup of oats turned into a smooth and delicate cup of flour. This is by far my most impressive discovery yet (I am very easily impressed, as well as amused) and I hope to use my homemade oat flour in more recipes to come. And also to make more pancakes. Yum!

Cinnamon Oatmeal Pancakes

1.5 cups of plain oatmeal

1 cup almond milk (or low fat cows milk)

2 egg whites

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons brown sugar

Take 1 cup of the oatmeal and blend it in a blender until soft flour forms (if you want smooth and not chunky pancakes, blend the whole 1.5 cups).

Put the flour in a bowl, along with the last 1/2 cup of oats and rest of the ingredients. Mix with a spoon to combine. Let sit for a couple of minutes (this will help the batter thicken as the oatmeal begins to absorb the milk).

Make pancakes as usual. I served them topped with some fresh strawberries and maple syrup.

These pancakes definitely taste healthier than regular pancakes. The oat flavor really shines through, which I liked a lot! I also liked adding some whole oats to get some good, oatmeal texture. These guys are heart healthy and low in fat, a meal that seems like a treat but really, its good for you too! They were definitely sufficient for carbo loading, as I try to become one with the runners. If I can’t join them physically, I can support them through my stomach.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 6:50 pm

    I love oatmeal pancakes!! These look great!! 🙂

  2. April 20, 2010 7:17 am

    Haha, I love carb loading for watching runners 🙂

    Those pancakes sound delicious. I usually hate having to get out the blender but these sound good enough to use the blender for haha

    • April 20, 2010 8:46 pm

      My blender now sits out on my counter for smoothies every day, but my food processor is a pain to get out! I wish I had an amazing kitchen with places for all of my appliances 🙂

  3. April 20, 2010 8:17 am

    I love oatmeal pancakes. I use cottage cheese to make mine though.

    • April 20, 2010 8:45 pm

      I’ve seen that too, I’ll have to try it sometime 🙂

      • April 21, 2010 9:51 am

        I vote for cottage cheese AND oatmeal in a pancake, of course 🙂 Ever since I started making these, I can’t get enough! Seeing these makes me hungry for more right about now!

  4. April 20, 2010 12:18 pm

    i need to make pancakes more routine, i love them so much!

  5. April 20, 2010 4:23 pm

    Mmmm, these look great! I like it when things taste healthy sometimes 🙂 Apolinaras grinds oats for his homemade protein bars and I need to experiment with them more!

  6. April 20, 2010 7:14 pm

    Yum! I never thought about creating my own oat flour! That is incredible! And to use in pancakes? Wow – I am super impressed by your recipe. I make a pancake based off of the NYtimes blueberry oatmeal pancakes recipe. It isn’t gluten free, but it has a strong oatmeal flavor that I love. Will definitely try your shortly. Thanks for sharing!

    • April 20, 2010 8:45 pm

      I love a lot of the NYT recipes! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

