Skip to content

Fish, Dill, and Polenta

April 22, 2010

Today was pretty stressful, at work and with some personal stuff. On days like this I come home (after a quick stint at Trader Joe’s to decompress) and don’t really feel like cooking. So even though my plan for tonight was a quick and simple meal, as Love Your Leftovers meals generally are, I opted to go out. But never fear, readers, because here is a meal from the weekend I hadn’t had a chance to post yet!

In my effort to include more fish in my diet, I still had not made the quintessential seafood-herb combination: fish and dill. Sometimes I wonder if the person who discovered dill did so soley to pair it with salmon and talapia. It is the perfect summer pairing with some fresh vegetables, or warm and comforting with a cream sauce during a winter snowfall.

Along with this meal comes an old favorite of mine: premade polenta. Of course the loose cornmeal is fabulous, cooked up with some chicken stock and butter to a mashed potato consistency. But there is something special about precooked polenta, served in a roll shape, that not only speeds up making a meal but can be used in different ways than its counterpart. Sliced to the perfect thickness and topped with a dash of your favorite cheese, your broiler and polenta will form perfect harmony and golden goodness. You can even cut it into sticks for polenta fries, or slice is thinly the long way for lasagna-like noodles. Buy some and keep it in your fridge, you won’t regret it!

White Fish with Light Dill Sauce and Polenta

1 lb white fish of your choice

Salt, pepper, and lemon juice to season

1/2 cup light sour cream

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 tablespoons fresh dill

8 slices of premade polenta, about 1/2 inch thick

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Salt, pepper, and garlic powder

2 handfuls fresh spinach

Preheat the oven to 400*

Spray an oven proof dish with Pam and lay out the polenta slices. Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and sprinkle evenly with the Parmesan cheese. Put in the oven and cook for 20 minutes.

Spray a second oven proof dish with Pam. Season the white fish with salt, pepper, and lemon juice and put in the dish. Cook for 10 minutes.

While the fish is cooking, mix together the sour cream, dill, and tablespoon of lemon juice. After the fish has been in for 10 minutes, remove from the oven and cover with a layer of the dill sauce. Put back in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the fish flakes easily.

Place the fish on a handful of fresh spinach and serve the polenta along the side.

Light, simple and fresh. Dill and fish together as one. A wonderful and quick weeknight meal.

What do you do when you have a stressful day? Do you eat out or cook at home?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 8:53 pm

    I’m so sorry you had a stressful day. If it makes you feel any better, so did I. And my husband did too. Oh well, tomorrow’s another day, right… Get some rest tonight and hopefully things will be better tomorrow for all of us!! šŸ™‚

    I love polenta and I LOVE dill!! I don’t use it nearly enough. This dish looks amazing!!

  2. April 23, 2010 8:14 am

    I love Trader Joes! We don’t have them in SC, but we load up when we go to Atlanta. On stressful days I tend to spend extra time with my dog. She’s definitely been good for my soul.

  3. April 23, 2010 10:42 am

    What a delicious fish with the dill sauce. Dill is one of the most perfect flavors for it. I love polenta – but haven’t found a pre-made that I like. They all seem to have a sour taste. I love Trader Joe’s too – don’t have one by me since I moved.

  4. April 23, 2010 12:00 pm

    Oooh yay polenta!! I agree that I love homemade, but there’s nothing wrong with the pre-cooked stuff for a quick fix! This looks so beautiful šŸ™‚

  5. April 23, 2010 2:21 pm

    Sorry you had a stressful day. I hope whatever it was is better now. šŸ™‚

  6. April 23, 2010 3:21 pm

    I have also been trying to eat more fish recently, and this recipe sounds like a great one! I love the combination of dill and fresh fish, and your light sauce sounds delicious.

    I hope you’re feeling more relaxed as we near the weekend!

Leave a Reply

