Skip to content

Feelin hot, hot, hot

April 23, 2010

I am so happy its Friday! Does that ever happen to you when you have a short week? I only worked four days, since Monday was Patriot’s Day, but those four days have dragged! And this weekend looks like my favorite type of weather: one beautiful and warm day to enjoy outside, one colder and rainy to do errands, some cleaning, and of course some cooking!

In the summer I love to eat dinner salads, big bowls filled with every fruit and vegetable I have in the fridge. The warm weather and the sunshine make me crave cold, crisp meals, so a salad is the best way to go! But my WSS gets incredibly confused in the spring. The sun is shining and there are blue skies, but a brisk wind will remind me that yes, it is still April, and yes, I still should be wearing a jacket. Or the sky will cloud over and I bundle up for a breeze, and it will be 70* outside. Do I wear long or short sleeves? Are boots still appropriate? Can I eat a salad?!

This year I finally realized what will put my WSS at bay: warm salads. Another one of those meals that I thoroughly enjoy whenever it is presented to me, but that I always forget I can make myself. The cool, crisp vegetables tossed with a warm dressing or meat, refreshing and comforting at the same time.

This is my last Love Your Leftovers with this particular roast chicken. If I didn’t have this meal planned I would throw it away (you can’t let meat get too old!) My stock is in our freezer, waiting for another use to come about. The great thing about shredded chicken is that you can add it to almost any vegetarian dish for some extra bulk and protein. I based my dish off of a recipe from The Full Yield, the healthy living program I am involved in at work, which originally uses tofu. But the chicken worked splendidly.

Warm Mushroom and Chicken Asian Slaw

1/4 cup reduced-sodium soy sauce
2 1/2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon wasabi
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 cup shredded chicken (from leftovers!)
4 cups lightly packed shredded napa cabbage (leftover from fish tacos!)
2 cups sliced mushrooms (leftover from casserole!)

Pam
1 cup brown rice to serve (leftover from casserole!)

In a small bowl, combine the soy sauce, lemon juice, wasabi and garlic.

Put the chicken in another bowl, and toss with half of the marinade. Reserve the rest.

Place the cabbage in a large serving bowl.

Heat a pan or wok and spray with some Pam. Add the mushrooms and cook until mushrooms are soft. Add the chicken and cook until heated through.

Spoon the mushrooms and chicken over the cabbage.

Add the reserved marinade to the pan and bring to a simmer. Pour over the salad and toss together.

Serve with the brown rice.

Wow, that was a lot of leftovers I used up 🙂 I’ve never been one to go for a slaw over a salad, but this was delicious! The wonderful crunch of the cabbage is fabulous with the hot sauce, such a nice change from when cabbage is cooked and loses all of its structure. The chicken, mushrooms, and sesame were wonderful compliments, and I would even serve this as a side dish without the chicken for another Asian-inspired meal. On day like to day, sunny and in the high 50s, my WSS and my stomach are satisfied.

Do you like hot salads? What is your favorite type of salad: lettuce, slaw, potato, pasta?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 6:34 pm

    This sounds amazing. I have broccoli slaw and mushrooms in the fridge and think I’ll make this tomorrow for lunch!

    My week dragged and was hectic as well. I hope you have a great weekend!

  2. April 23, 2010 11:18 pm

    Oh I LOVE hot salads! I’m a fan of hot food…I don’t like cold food, not even in the hottest summer. I don’t even like ice-cream because it’s cold, haha. You come up with the most interesting recipes. I love it!

  3. April 24, 2010 7:11 am

    I love salad, but like you, I kind of forget about slaw sometimes!! Warm slaw in particular! This looks awesome– I’ll have to make it (sans chicken 🙂 )

  4. April 24, 2010 1:05 pm

    Brilliant idea for confusing April weather! I never thought of warm salads. I like to do a cold lettuce/spinach/veggie base topped with warm chicken or other warm toppings. I have been craving so many smoothies lately too, sooooo refreshing! Happy weekend!

  5. April 25, 2010 4:47 pm

    Absolutely perfect timing on this dish! I feel the same way- as the weather warms, I tend to crave big bowls of fresh veg for dinner! And I just recently realized how much I love a crisp slaw- the kind where the cabbage retains its crunch and filling factor without being weighed down. I looooove sesame oil too- it adds such depth of flavor, like nothing else. Daniel and I would just adore this meal. You’ve come up with something that would suit us both perfectly since he doesn’t really care for salad at dinner- this feels more substantial but still gives me that same veggie-centric edge!

    I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend my love!!

  6. April 26, 2010 10:48 am

    yum! i love slaw salads. they’re definitely my favorite. i like to mix slaw in with lettuce based salads so i get a bit of both! way to make leftovers look fun and new 🙂

Leave a Reply

