Skip to content

Rookie Mistake

April 24, 2010

It has been such a perfect day today. The sun is shining, and all I did was relax. Sometimes a Saturday is meant to be completely unproductive, and completely enjoyable.

Last time I went grocery shopping I decided to buy dry beans instead of the canned ones. They are cheaper, have less sodium, and you get more for your money. I had seen in recipes about soaking beans and my Mom had done it too, so I thought hey, how hard can it be?

The rookie that I am, I soaked a whole pound of black beans, not thinking about how they would expand as they soaked up the water. I had two recipes I wanted to use them for, so I figured I would use a half pound per recipe. I must have at least 8 cups of beans sitting in my saucepan. I wasn’t planning another major Love Your Leftovers this week, but sometimes they just spring upon you, I guess 🙂

I was craving chili (oh WSS, you slay me!) but I thought it would be too heavy for a beautiful spring day. So I decided to mix it up a bit and turn my chili idea into Mexican Soup. Light and refreshing, you get all of the chili taste without the winter warmth. Plus it used up a good cup of my black bean stash.

Mexican Soup

1 lb ground turkey

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

1 large tomato

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 cup black beans

2 cups chicken stock (from leftovers!)

1 tablespoon chili powder

1 tablespoon cumin

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 chili pepper

Salt and pepper

Light sour cream and fresh cilantro to serve.

In a saucepan, saute the onion and garlic until soft. Add the ground turkey and cook until there is no pink left.

Add the rest of the ingredients and simmer, covered, for 45 minutes, then uncovered for 15 minutes. Re-season to taste.

Serve with light sour cream and fresh cilantro.

This soup was light and refreshing, with a great spicy kick perfect for a springtime wake up call! The sour cream is key, to add a mild creaminess to contrast the spicy tomato. It is like a chili with less beans and thickness, and could be turned into chili with more beans and less broth. Now its time to brainstorm what to do with the rest of my magical black beans.

What is your favorite black bean recipe?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 9:16 pm

    lol…can’t wait to see the rest of your bean creations throughout the week! That totally sounds like something I would do too 🙂

  2. April 25, 2010 1:59 pm

    I must admit I’ve never used dried beans before. I really should move away from the canned variety!

    Your soup looks delicious – all flavors I love.

    I use black beans mainly in Mexican-themed meals: vegetarian burritos, turkey chili, salsa, taco salads, etc. They’re great!

  3. April 25, 2010 3:37 pm

    i have been meaning to use more dried beans… but convenience has won out so far. fabulous soup, and at least you’ve got another leftover series out of the good 🙂 Black beans are pretty versatile… chili, salsa, breakfast burritos, on top of sweet potatoes… heck, even brownies!

  4. April 26, 2010 10:52 am

    Funny, I was craving chili this weekend too and actually tried a new recipe I found that used shellfish instead of meat – really tasty and a perfect cure for when WSS strikes in summertime! by the way, did you know you can freeze your extra beans? I would divide them into 1-cup portions so you can easily pull them out for recipes. Black bean tortilla casserole is probably our favorite thing to make with black beans 🙂
    http://carascravings.blogspot.com/2010/01/black-bean-tortilla-casserole-part-iii.html

  5. April 27, 2010 9:45 am

    Haha, I would have done the same thing! I’ve never soaked my own beans, but I’ve heard nothing but amazing reviews- compared to the canned variety that I usually opt for! It’s worth it. Can beans be frozen, I wonder? Probably not, but hey- they’re delicious and I’m always into bean recipes so I’ll be excited to see what you come up with! Black bean burgers? More huevos rancheros?? You made delicious ones in the past!

    I looove this soup- so full of bold flavor!!

Trackbacks

  1. Black Bean Fiesta! « Yumventures
  2. Get Cooking: Vegetarian Chili « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

