Skip to content

Sunday Sandwiches

April 25, 2010

Last night some friends were in town from New York and stumbled upon a pub with karaoke.  A few vodka tonics and a very lively rendition of “New York State of Mind” later, I woke up this morning a bit worse for wear. It was an amazing night, which means that a hearty dinner was required on the table.

Of the things I miss after going gluten free, sandwiches rank near the top of my list. Sure, I can make a pretty mean ham and cheese on the gf bread I buy, but what about those amazing, one pound deli sandwiches, pressed paninis, or food long subs? The type of sandwiches that are a meal in themselves, so hearty and satisfying.

Tonight that was just the thing I craved, a sandwich of epic proportions. A homemade sandwich with the quality of a New York City deli. After my hamburger bun success I was ready to take a dive into more bread making (which I will review in a separate post), and wanted to create a new version of one of my favorite sandwiches, a Philadelphia cheesesteak. Rich vegetables and melted provolone, tonight’s dinner was perfectly satisfying.

Portobello Cheesesteak

1 onion, sliced

2 peppers, sliced (I used a 3 pepper medly)

2 portobello mushroom caps, cleaned and sliced

Salt and pepper

1 tablespoon flour

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1/4 cup chicken broth

4 slices provolone cheese

2 bread rolls of your choice

Saute the onion in a pan until soft. Add the peppers and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Then add the mushrooms and soften, adding a little salt and pepper at the end.

Sprinkle the flour over the vegetables and toss until they are coated. Add the soy sauce and chicken broth and bring to a simmer.

Turn the oven on to broil.

Cut the rolls in half, put on a baking sheet, and spoon the vegetables on top of them, dividing evenly. Top each with a slice of provolone and put under the broiler until the cheese has melted.

Sandwich the rolls back together and enjoy!

It was so wonderful having a giant, warm, oozing sandwich on my plate tonight. The vegetable medley with the provolone fit perfectly into my homemade bread. Along with some fresh black bean salad it was a great Sunday afternoon meal, a healthful version of an old favorite. I wish I could have this every day 🙂

What is your favorite sandwich? Do you go for a classic, or something more unique? Or maybe a spin on an old favorite?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 6:23 am

    Lol…gotta love nights like that, right? This sandwich looks so hearty and delicious!

  2. April 26, 2010 8:11 am

    I love a good sandwich! I just had a mean reuben in chicago this weekend.

  3. April 26, 2010 3:37 pm

    That would be hard to give up sandwiches. I am a huge sandwich lover.

  4. April 26, 2010 4:57 pm

    Gosh, I don’t envy you for having to go GF. I would have such a hard time giving up bread! I’m ALWAYS up for a sandwich… I love portobello on my sandwiches too but we’ll legit eat just about any kind 🙂

  5. April 26, 2010 6:30 pm

    YUM! Portabello’s are so delicious and can definitely hold their own against meat! Great-sounding recipe!

  6. April 26, 2010 10:19 pm

    Oh wow, this Philly looks amazing! I like how chock-full of veggies it is! I am obsessed with sandwiches, because the sky is the limit when making them! I prefer fun and interesting ones, but there are a few selects that I like to return to all the time!

  7. April 27, 2010 9:48 am

    You know, when I was in high school I worked at a little Italian Pizza shop and I used to order a steak and cheese sub every single day. We can only imagine my cholesterol and justify my weight, but they were the best tasting sandwiches in the world. I loooooooove that you used portobellos here! I’m such a fan of this twist. Mushrooms have such a beefy, meaty flavor and are just so hearty that I bet it worked beautifully!!

    And especially on your homemade bread!! I absolutely believe that the bread is what makes a sandwich divine. Bookmarking this recipe, my love!

Trackbacks

  1. Black Bean Fiesta! « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

