Skip to content

Summertime Beans

April 27, 2010

Never fear, operation Love Your Leftovers: Black Beans did not disappear into the dark! I was just a little excited about homemade bread and gigantic sandwiches. But a sandwich isn’t quite a sandwich without a side of something tasty. Which is where the black beans come in.

I am a huge salad fan, but sometimes lettuce is just so…lettuce-y. Eating a side salad with dinner is often an afterthought for me, a way to get in some greens and not think much about the fact that I am eating it as I stare at the steak on the plate next to it. (Steak > lettuce). But as we all know, salads don’t have to be just lettuce, or just greens. Pasta, rice, quinoa, and a variety of vegetables and dressings add zazz and punch as a wonderful salad side dish. And what else? Beans!

My aunt made one of the first bean-based salads I remember having, a combination of french lentils, goat cheese, and roasted red peppers. I could have eaten a world of this stuff.  It was surprisingly hearty for a cold dish, and when my Mom remade it I begged her to double the already intensely large recipe so I could eat a bowl for lunch every day. Seriously, that good.

I wanted to turn some of my black beans into a similar type of salad, fresh with extra protein to accompany a vegetarian meal (vegetable cheesesteaks!). This was thrown together in the blink of an eye, without measuring ingredients and following my taste buds. The only thing I would change to the recipe is to make more; it would have been great to have on my lunch salad the next day (or two, or three…).

Summer Black Bean Salad

2 cups black beans
1/2 a red onion, very thinly sliced
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/2 tablespoon cumin
2 tablespoons fresh cilantro
Juice of 1/2 a lemon
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients together, adding salt and pepper to taste. Let marinade a half an hour before serving.

This will definitely be a go-to recipe for the summer. Even after eating that huge sandwich Z and I kept chowing down on this until there was none left. The lemon is a nice change from the usual vinegar salad dressing, and with the herbs and thin slivers of onion it was full of fresh flavors. And I don’t even normally like raw onion! I can’t wait to make this again.

What is your favorite non-lettuce salad?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 8:01 pm

    Yum! I never think to eat black beans cold…good idea!

  2. April 28, 2010 7:28 am

    This sounds super fresh and summery! I love black bean salad, especially when it’s simple and delicious 🙂

  3. April 28, 2010 10:54 am

    Black beans are my favorite bean. This looks totally delicious! And a wonderful warm weather dish. My favorite salad is a chickpea and tuna salad.

  4. April 28, 2010 4:56 pm

    I love cucumbers and tomatoes with balsalmic….brings a smile to my face.

  5. April 28, 2010 4:59 pm

    Good recipe! I just threw out some spoiled black beans.. so sad.

  6. April 28, 2010 7:39 pm

    It’s funny I was never a big Mexican food fan, and I just recently learned that I love chicken fahitas but I never had them as a kid. However I am a TOTAL bean-a-hol-ic. I love the taste and I love how cheap and easy they are!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Summertime Beans « Yumventures -- Topsy.com
  2. What’s In Season: July « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

