Skip to content

Pomegranate Margaritas

May 5, 2010

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Yesterday I said to treat yourself to a margarita. Just because you are no longer an undergrad doesn’t mean you shouldn’t celebrate a sunny day, Mexican style! I have no qualms having a drink on a weeknight. A glass of red wine with dinner enhances the flavor of a meal. Some champagne is the perfect way celebrate a completed project or successful baking attempt. Or if I have a bad day, I will turn on my favorite episode of How I Met Your Mother and enjoy a Z created cocktail. I think every day can be a special occasion 🙂

The wonderful (no pun intended) people at POM Wonderful sent me a package of their pomegranate juice to try in my cooking. While I have a few recipes up my sleeve, as today is Cinco de Mayo and Z just finished his first law school final exam, so I thought we should enjoy something extra special to celebrate.

Whenever I have a margaritas I always order the original lime flavor, except when pomegranate is on the menu. I love pomegranate drinks. The juice’s tartness is so refreshing compared to the usual super-sweet strawberry or mango, and in fact I always add less or no sugar when I am making them myself because I love the tartness so much. Plus, pomegranate juice has so many antioxidants, it is hard to stay no. Especially when mixed with tequila and ice.

Z was a bartender for a year when he was in Australia, so he created this cocktail from scratch. On this almost 80* day, we are now watching some good TV and I am sipping my drink out of my awesome strawberry margarita glass. If only it had pomegranates painted on it instead 🙂

Pomegranate Margarita

2 shots tequila

1 shot POM Wonderful pomegranate juice

2 shots lemon juice

1 and 1/2 teaspoons sugar

1/2 shot triple sec

2 shots water

Ice

Shake all together and serve in the best margarita glass you have.

All I can say is: “Mmmmmmmm!”

Feliz Cinco de Mayo!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:09 pm

    Oh what I would give to live with you tonight! That looks delish!

  2. May 5, 2010 9:35 pm

    Argh, I’m such a big dummy! I could have made myself a drink like this tonight – I even have the POM – but I totally spaced out! Got home late from work and just had my eyes on the dinner prize. I’m not much of a fun drinking buddy to anyone, obviously!

  3. Lauren permalink
    May 5, 2010 9:36 pm

    Mmmmm I second Jamie’s message! And I love the glass!

  4. May 5, 2010 9:38 pm

    Sign me up for one of these!

  5. May 5, 2010 10:32 pm

    Oooh yum! I definitely went to an Italian restaurant for dinner tonight, but now I kind of wish I had a margarita to celebrate cinco de mayo 🙂

  6. May 6, 2010 1:58 am

    Mmm…looks delicioso! 😉 I’ve never made a margarita at home, but now I may have to try!

  7. May 6, 2010 8:07 am

    I’ll have a double.

  8. May 6, 2010 12:24 pm

    That strawberry glass is really fun.

  9. May 6, 2010 3:02 pm

    Mmm, wish I had one of these right now!

Leave a Reply

