Skip to content

Dear Dominos (a letter)

May 6, 2010

Dear Dominos,

You were my favorite fast food pizza while I was in college. Before I removed gluten from my life. Your dough was so doughy and your cheese was so stringy, and your pizza always came with cheesy breadsticks which were, essentially, pizza in a square form without the sauce. Sometimes I miss you, but I’ve moved on.

There are some trends in the blog world that I don’t understand. I love oatmeal, but I could not eat it every morning for breakfast, and probably not out of a jar. I tried to make healthy black bean brownies, which ended up such a disaster that I couldn’t even open my fridge until Z had thrown them out. They were shiny and kind of wet. So gross. But today, dear Dominos, I have found a trend that is not only great, but surpasses you in goodness and in health.

I had read on a number of occasions recipes for cauliflower pizza crust. Gluten free, mozzarella cheese, and made with a vegetable — I kept saying “No!” because, like anything too good to be true, it probably was. Just like those brownies. But today I craved pizza, and Z was studying for his finals so could not make his amazing crust, and though there is a Dominos a block away I could not bring myself to go. So I made the recipe.

I wanted to write you this letter to let you know that, as this catches on, less and less people will be coming to your restaurant. And I thought you should know why. Not only did the crust hold together in slices, but the mozzarella along the edge crisped and browned so nicely I felt like I was in cheese heaven. This crust is light and slightly doughy, amazing without an ounce of flour. I also recommend that you add buffalo sauce to some of your tomato bases, just because it is addicting.

Love,
Sophie

Vegetable Pizza with Cauliflower Pizza Crust

For the Crust:
1 cup cooked cauliflower, grated or processed in a food processor
1 egg
1 cup mozzarella cheese, grated
Salt, pepper, oregano

For the Sauce:
1/2 small can of tomato paste
1/4 cup water
1 tablespoon Frank’s Red Hot Buffalo Sauce

For the Toppings:
1 cup broccoli, chopped
4 oz mushrooms, chopped
1 tomato, thinly sliced
1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 450*

Toss the chopped broccoli with a little olive oil and put in an oven proof dish. Put in the oven to roast.

Mix together the pizza crust ingredients in a small bowl until well incorporated. Spray a baking sheet with non stick spray and press the mixture onto it into a crust shape. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes, or until brown around the edges and set in the middle.

While the crust is baking, cook the sauce ingredients together in a small saucepan until incorporated. Season with salt and pepper.

When the crust is done, remove from the oven along with the broccoli. Turn the oven on to broil.

Spread the sauce over the crust, almost to the edges. Top with 3/4 of the cheese and all of the tomatoes, broccoli, and mushrooms. Top the veggies with the last bit of the cheese and put under the broiler until the cheese has melted.

I can pretty much guarantee you won’t want to go to Domino’s again. Next I want to make some cauliflower breadsticks for some dipping fun!

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 4:22 am

    I’ve never had Domino’s pizza. I don’t think I want to either. I want to have this though. I keep seeing cauliflower crust on blogs, but if you tried it, I know it’s not one of those blogging fads 🙂
    I’ll have to give this a chance.

    • May 8, 2010 10:03 am

      Its definitely worth it if you are looking for a lighter crust!

  2. May 7, 2010 5:37 am

    Holy cow. I’ve never seen cauliflower crust! Was the crust chewy at all?

    I tried OIAJ last night for the third time..I think..it was better than my other attempts but I still don’t love it.

  3. May 7, 2010 7:17 am

    Wow, I’ve never heard of anything like that before! What a neat idea!

  4. May 7, 2010 7:22 am

    “I love oatmeal, but I could not eat it every morning for breakfast, and probably not out of a jar.”

    AMEN!

    How did the crust turn out? Crunchy? Chewy? Thin?

    • May 8, 2010 10:04 am

      Mine turned out pretty thin – next time I will probably double the recipe and make it the same size but thicker. The edges were really crispy which was amazing because of the cheese in it! And the rest it was hard to tell because it was thin, I guess I would say chewier rather than crunchier 🙂

  5. May 7, 2010 7:40 am

    I’ve never seen this before– YUM!!!! Brilliant!

  6. May 7, 2010 9:30 am

    Glad you tried out the cauliflower crust and loved it!! I can’t wait to make it again, soooooooo unbelievably good!! 🙂

  7. May 7, 2010 7:39 pm

    Okay first, loved the letter to Dominos. But also, Leah and I had a convo this afternoon about cauliflower crust because she’s gluten-free and I was like, “Um cauliflower is not BREAD.” (I love carbs.) But this helps convince me!

  8. May 8, 2010 7:30 am

    I keep seeing this crust recipe too. I don’t know if I can bring myself to eat that much cheese in one sitting! Maybe I am overthinking it? haha. I am glad to hear it’s that good though!

    • May 8, 2010 10:05 am

      I used a lighter mozzarella cheese and didn’t do a packed cup of it, so I don’t think it ends up being that much 🙂 Also, could probably go without adding the extra cheese on top if you want to avoid it 🙂

  9. May 9, 2010 8:49 pm

    What a cool crust idea – I’ve never seen this before. Yum!

  10. May 29, 2010 7:48 pm

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

  11. June 8, 2010 10:50 am

    This is seriously awesome! I have to try it sometime. 🙂

  12. June 8, 2010 1:55 pm

    my goodness, that sounds delicious! I am going to try this
    thanks!

  13. Gina permalink
    June 26, 2010 7:31 pm

    I made this Pizza tonight and it was soooooooo fabulous!!!!! and I am a pizza lover!!!! The crust was browned and crunchy on the edge and soft throughout – yummmo!!! I put the steamed cauliflower in the food processor with the egg and cheese, I was even a tad short on mozzarella and used a little Mont jack too(1/4 c.) I added lots of spices – s and p, oregano, basil and garlic. I could have eaten the mashed cauliflower all on it’s own it was so good. I used a bit of artichoke spag. sauce, spread thin, then a little cheese. My toppings were spinach, mushroom, red onion, olive and artichoke hearts. It was just awesome and soooo gourmet – you really need to eat it with a fork and savor every bite!! thank you so much!

  14. Steve Larson permalink
    August 10, 2010 8:01 am

    I’ve been making this pizza for the last several months. Very, very good and your pictures are the best I’ve seen

Trackbacks

  1. Moroccan chicken “pizza” – shabby chic

Leave a Reply

