Skip to content

Party in a Bowl

May 7, 2010

It’s Friday! *does happy dance*

I am utilizing the month of May, while Z is studying for finals and chained to his desk, to give our apartment a makeover. We have been here for 9 months and since we hope to stay until Z takes the bar (moving sucks!), I thought I could make our abode a little more…adult. It’s not like we have Power Ranger action figures or a “de-motivational” poster up in our bedroom (though we do have a remote control helicopter, which may be the best thing ever), but since I had to start work the day we moved in everything was put in a place and stayed there. Our walls are blank, our clothes pile up, and everything is in general disarray. A dauntingly overwhelming task to take on, but I’ve psyched myself up to do it. It involves a lot of coffee.

General adult-ness aside, I have other reasons for wanting our apartment to look its best. I’ve talked time and again about how much I love having people over, making dinner for my friends, and helping host my parents’ cocktail parties. Confession: I haven’t done this myself. I had one “dinner party” back in October in a very cramped kitchen, and we ended up at the pub next door playing darts instead of showcasing my wildly wonderful hostessing abilities. Our living room is no place for a happy hour. Unless you mind standing on law books and winter jackets.

Though “Death by Law School” continues until the end of the month and I won’t have much help from Z, tonight I decided to use him as my guinea pig to practice a few hors d’oeuvres, since every good party needs some snacks and who says you can’t have snacks for dinner? It would be a terrible thing to serve horrible food to a crowd of friends and Z will keep loving me even through potential food poisoning.

My first hors d’oeuvre is one of my (and everyone’s) favorites: guacamole. Who goes to a party and doesn’t spend all night positioned next to the chips and guac? Which got me thinking. When you have a good number of people in a room, everyone either crowds around the food, stands back without eating anything, or does the entirely awkward “let me try to put a little bit of this on my plate” and ends up spilling dip and wine all over themselves and the floor. What to do?! How about serve your chips and dip in individual cups! Guests can pick them up and take them where they want, with enough chips and dip to satisfy without the mess. I think I may have had a genius moment. And Z has a genius guacamole recipe. Meant to be.

Homemade Guacamole

2 avocados, mashed but leaving a few chunks

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

1/2 teaspoon hot sauce

1 teaspoon minced garlic

2 tablespoons lemon or lime juice

Salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients together. Serve in half of a small bowl or plastic cup, and top with homemade tortilla chips.

This took 3 minutes to make the amazing guacamole, 10 minutes in the oven for the chips. Even if your friends decided to swing by unexpectedly to watch the latest episode of Lost, you could have this on the table before they walk in the door. They will be so happy to see that you prepared them their own very special dish. “Oh, I just whipped this up.” And they will love you for it.

I’m so happy it was the weekend, which I hope will be filled with productive apartment-fixing. Wish me luck!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 7:51 am

    Mmmmm…nothing better than fresh, homemade guac!! šŸ™‚

    Have a great weekend!

  2. May 8, 2010 10:00 am

    Oh yum, this guacamole recipe sounds wonderful!! I love that there’s no yucky sour cream in it. I need to pick up some avocados, love how healthy they are!! šŸ™‚

  3. May 8, 2010 11:28 am

    The guac looks wonderful! Mm mmmmm! We took forever decorating our place, too! It’s great you’re taking on the task! It’ll be fun šŸ™‚ Do you have a Hobby Lobby near you? I recommend checking it out! Lots of great decor, typically 50% off! P.S. We have several remote controlled helicopters…hubby’s little hobby, lol!

  4. May 8, 2010 2:32 pm

    This looks great. BTW, I’d love to have a remote controlled helicopter! A guy my hubby works with has one in his office.

  5. May 9, 2010 8:48 pm

    I like your idea to put each serving in little cups! So cute and you can’t go wrong with guac – yum! Hope your apartment decorating went well.

Leave a Reply

