Skip to content

Power Lunch

May 9, 2010

Operation Pimp my Apartment is well under way, despite Z’s constant quizzical expression about why one picture has to be switched from the hallway to the bedroom. There is always a reason behind the madness!

I am definitely that crazy person who, when on a mission, gets up at 9 am on a Saturday and immediately start cleaning, dusting, and sticking a variety of paint swatches to the walls. And boy do I work up an appetite! In the midst of my organizational whirlwind I forget to eat until I my stomach is screaming at me and I get a light headed if I stand up too fast. Lunch needed to be quick and powerful, an IV of adrenaline to get me back in the game.

On Thursday I went to a great blogging event hosted by Mary Kate of the fabulous Kitchenbelle and the fine folks at Eggland’s Best. Probably the best event I’ve been to, we were served bloody marys and a full, three  course meal featuring dozens of dishes using Eggland’s Best eggs. Plus, all of us bloggers got hooked up with goodie bags chock full of eggy goodies, including a “bag of eggs”. Yes, we were all very confused when the Eggland’s team said they were giving us a “bag of eggs”, which turned out to literally be a bag of a half-dozen pre-hard boiled eggs. I was pretty weary of using them, but when cleaning starvation set in I looked at my bag of eggs and thought: egg salad.

As a kid, egg salad is one of those meals that you dread finding in your lunchbox, but as an adult it is one of my favorite gourmet sandwiches. Now that my taste buds are “mature” and not craving the usual mass amounts of mayonnaise, a grown up egg salads such as this, made with mustard and a variety of fillers, is my favorite way to refuel. And I got to subtract 10 minutes of prep time from boiling the eggs (and peeling them, oy!) with my Eggland’s Best ones.

Egg Salad Sandwich (makes 2 sandwiches)

6 hardboiled eggs

2 tablespoons cottage cheese

1 tablespoon grainy mustard

1/4 cup chopped dill pickle

1 tablespoon capers

1 tablespoon fresh dill

Salt and pepper

Chop up the eggs roughly and put them in a bowl. Add the cottage cheese and mustard and mash with a fork to combine all of the ingredients.

Add the pickle, capers, and dill and mix thoroughly. Salt and pepper to taste.

Serve on two pieces of toasted bread and some crisp romaine lettuce.

Refreshing and tangy. And I loved how little work it took. Eggland’s Best has the right idea with pre-hard boiling eggs, and they were cooked perfectly; they didn’t even have that overcooked grey ring around the yolk. Just pure yellow and white. Perfect prep to attack the boxes under my bed. Go ahead and make yourself a grown up egg salad, its whats for lunch!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 2:04 am

    I’ve always loved egg salad! I like the idea of adding cottage cheese in place of the mayo. YUM!

  2. May 10, 2010 10:23 am

    Oh god, I totally agree. I remember sobbing one time as a kid after finding egg salad in my lunchbox! (I was a bit of a cry baby)

    I love egg salad now.

  3. May 10, 2010 2:10 pm

    Your egg salad looks perfect. Great use of your bag of eggs. Hubby wants me to make deviled eggs out of ours.

  4. May 10, 2010 9:03 pm

    Ah I used to love egg salad… Must find a replacement for myself. The blogger party sounds great!

  5. May 10, 2010 9:20 pm

    I’m loving the hardboiled eggs in my fridge too 🙂 And since I always have cottage cheese to use up… I sense there might my some egg salad in my lunchbox this week too 🙂

  6. May 12, 2010 3:40 pm

    love the cottage cheese addition!

Leave a Reply

