Skip to content

Hot and Cold Stir Fry

May 12, 2010

Stir fries are a newbie cook’s best friend. Quick, easy, versatile; you really can’t go wrong. Well, you can overcook the vegetables to the point of disintegration and accidentally pour an entire container of salt on it when the lid falls off of your shaker, but accidents aside, stir fries are pretty much the simplest way to go.

At least that’s where I started when I first cooked for myself. There was no vegetable or meat that soy sauce could not change into “Asian Fusion Cuisine”. Now I still whip up a meal when I have a few odds and ends in the fridge, add some soy, and presto! Stir fry!

Yeah…its getting a little old.

The thing with stir fries and the new cook is that we always go for the same thing: soy sauce. Maybe someone gets fancy with a little oyster sauce or a shaving of ginger, but even those flavors are lost on the sodium express. Z pretty much dreads if I’m making a stir fry because no matter how new and delicious the ingredients sound, everything ends up tasting the same. There need to be a call to arms: lets get fancy with our woks!

I decided to make a date with my “wok” (aka frying pan, since I very sadly don’t have a wok…*sigh*) and see if we could take this relationship to the next level. I wore my best little black dress. I went for a miso-based sauce, slightly sweet, slightly salty. Brown rice went to a whole new level and became cold sesame peanut noodles. Worried about a hot/cold combo? Don’t be. Just like sweet and salty are a match made in heaven, hot and cold could celebrate their 60th wedding anniversary. Words like lukewarm and room temperature just flat-out scare me.

Hot Miso Stir Fry with Cold Sesame-Peanut Noodles

For the Stir Fry:

½ block tofu, cut into cubes

¼ cup soy sauce

1 cup pepper medly, sliced

1 cup broccoli, chopped

1 tablespoon miso

2 tablespoons soy sauce

2 tablespoons rice vinegar

1 tablespoon sugar

Marinade the tofu in the ¼ cup of soy sauce or at least an hour, all day, or over night.

In a lightly Pam sprayed frying pan, gently cook the tofu cubes until they are heated through. Add the vegetables and fry until tender.

In a small saucepan, whisk together the miso, soy sauce, vinegar and sugar. Bring to a simmer and reduce by half.

Pour the sauce over the tofu and veggies and toss until thoroughly mixed.

For the Noodles:

2 servings of pasta or noodles (I used about a cup and a half of dried spiral noodles I had in the cupboard)

1 tablespoon peanut butter

½ tablespoon of tamari or sesame oil

1 tablespoon soy sauce

1 tablespoon rice vinegar

1 tablespoon olive oil (if you didn’t add sesame oil)

Sesame seeds to serve

The night before (or morning of), cook the pasta and drain in a strainer. Run under cold water to cool the noodles. Toss with a little olive oil and put in the fridge.

When you are ready to cook, whisk together the rest of the ingredients in a medium bowl to form a sauce. Thrown in the noodles and toss until each strand is covered. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.


For the first time in “Serving Z Stir Fry” history, he did not eat a bowl of soy sauce. Life was good, food was great, and I got to wear my cocktail dress.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 11:08 pm

    Awww nice! It’s sooo true that stir fry generally always tastes the same and does not excite me at all. But this one looks SO good!

  2. May 13, 2010 7:31 am

    I get overzealous with the soy sauce too sometimes. To the point where I don’t even like making stir-frys. I’d rather just sautee veggies with a bit of olive oil, salt, and pepper.
    Miso sounds interesting. I do have a package in my fridge that I have no idea what to do with. Maybe I’ll try it out!

  3. May 13, 2010 8:20 am

    Yum! Stirfries are so easy…they’re one of the first meals I ever cooked! But I’m always looking for ways to change them up a bit– this will fit the bill!

  4. May 13, 2010 9:17 am

    I would like a pic of the cocktail dress please.

  5. May 14, 2010 2:13 pm

    Sounds like a great way to elevate the humble stir fry – yum 🙂 They are perfect when you need to use up a bunch of leftover veggies!

  6. January 14, 2013 9:20 pm

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your next post thank you
    once again.

Leave a Reply

