Skip to content

Get Cooking: House Guest Dinner Menu

May 24, 2010

I adore creating menus. Mixing old favorites with new treats, analyzing the guests, the weather, and the produce at the farmer’s market. I have succumbed to my life as a planner and list maker, and thankfully that has helped with my entertaining skills.For dinner on Friday I planned a casual, yet elegant, spread that would suite any small summer gathering.
To Start:

Homemade tortilla chips
(Made on Friday)

Mint and Pea Dip (adapted from We Are Not Martha)
(Made on Thursday night)

1 bag frozen peas
1 tablespoon butter
1/3 cup fresh mint, chopped
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon warm water
Salt and pepper

Defrost peas and puree in a food processor with the rest of the ingredients until smooth.

White Bean Dip
(Made on Thursday night)

1 can Canellini beans
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper

Saute 2 cloves of minced garlic in a pan until golden brown.

Drain and rinse the beans and puree in a food processor with the garlic, salt, pepper, and olive oil until smooth.

Main Course:

Chicken and Grape Kabobs (from Ellie Krager)
(Marinaded Thursday, cooked Friday)

6 chicken tenders, cut into 1.5 – 2″ pieces
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon oregano
Small bunch of green grapes (about 20)

Put 6 wooden skewers in a bowl of water to soak for a half an hour.

Marinate chicken in olive oil, lemon juice, cumin, and oregano for at least 20 minutes.

Thread 1 piece of chicken, followed by one green grape, onto each skewer until all the skewers are full.

Grill either on an outdoor or stovetop grill pan sprayed with Pam, rotating 3 minutes each side or until the chicken is no longer pink.

Side salad with Avocado and Grapefruit relish
(Made on Friday)


After spending 30 minutes cooking on Thursday night and 30 minutes on Friday after work, Amanda and I sat down over chips and dip and caught up after 6 months. The perfect fresh and simple meal. We ate so much there wasn’t room for dessert, which was ok, since there were muffins and honey for breakfast.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 7:38 pm

    how was the pea dip? i have a couple bags of frozen peas i need to use up. hubs HATES peas so if it tastes like peas, well, I can’t…but if i can disguise it, i am golden 🙂

    xo

  2. May 25, 2010 8:56 am

    What a great, fresh menu. I love chips and so I of course love anything I can dip the chips into! Thanks for the great recipe.

    Muffins and honey for breakfast sounds like my dream meal. 🙂

  3. May 25, 2010 9:11 am

    Chicken and grapes is a pretty cool idea! I’ve never had grapes on a grill before

  4. May 25, 2010 9:48 am

    I really like this series your doing! We do a lot of grilling, but grapes are new to me.

  5. May 25, 2010 12:26 pm

    i’ve been meaning to try those kabobs! everything looks delish 🙂

  6. May 25, 2010 4:07 pm

    Chicken and grape kabobs…those sound WONDERFUL! I love fruit on the grill, I am going to have to try something similar! Thanks for the great idea! The pea dip sounds wonderful, too…and totally unique! You’ve been busy, girlie!

  7. May 25, 2010 7:08 pm

    I do the same thing about planning and re-planning menus and stuff. Looks great!

  8. May 25, 2010 8:13 pm

    I love making menus too… so much that I often do it when I have no occasion and then end up having to plan one just to make my menu. Obsessed much? hehe. Yours sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

