Skip to content

Get Cooking: Vichyssoise

June 4, 2010

The French have somehow managed to create an edible bowl of velvet. Cold, luscious velvet.

I will have to admit (since my Mom will call me out if I don’t) that I didn’t have a taste for vichyssoise as a kid. Cold leek and potato soup seemed like bland porridge. Cold soups in general seemed downright insane.

But sometimes a recipe just gets me. I don’t care if I haven’t liked it in the past, or if I don’t like an ingredient, pictures and words describing a perfect meal draws me in and the “must make this” part of my brain goes off. Sometimes to utter failure (no, I still don’t like alfredo sauce. No matter how good it smells). But tonight I smelt sweet success. And leeks. Yum.

Again from Ms.Guiliano’s website, the small amount of fresh ingredients combined with a whole lot of love made something more impressive than if I had added rare truffle oil from Italy. Ok, that would probably be amazing, but this was still great.

And I’m on the cold soup bandwagon.

Vichyssoise (Cold Leek and Potato Soup) (Adapted from Frenchwomendontgetfat.com)

1 tablespoon olive oil or butter
4 leeks, cleaned with the greens chopped off
1 large onion
2 large potatoes, peeled
4 cups stock (chicken or vegetable)
1 tablespoon Worstershire sauce
1 teaspoon garlic powder
Salt and pepper
Sour cream and dill or parsley to serve

Finely chop the leeks and onion. Saute them in a large pot with the butter or oil until they are soft, about 10 minutes.

Dice the potato and add it to the leek/onion mixture. Top with the stock and bring to a boil. Simmer on medium-low heat for 35 minutes.

In batches, take some of the hot soup and put it in your blender (about 2 cups at a time). Blend until smooth and pour into a new pot. Repeat until all of the soup is blended.

Heat the blended soup and bring to a simmer. Add the Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Cover and refrigerate for 6 hours.

When ready to serve, ladle into bowls and top with a dollop of sour cream and some fresh chopped herbs.

For tomorrow’s leftovers I am topping this with crumbled bacon and caramelized onions. Its going to be amazing! So glad its Friday πŸ™‚

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 8:52 pm

    This is one soup I’ve never made – or even tasted! But you make it sound delicious and I love everything in it. Bacon and caramelized onions? I’m totally sold.

  2. June 4, 2010 9:50 pm

    I really just to GET vichyssoise. I mean, cold soup? really?

  3. June 6, 2010 11:12 am

    It seems like this would be very tasty hot as well – I guess it’s the best of both worlds, perfect for the summer or winter.

  4. June 6, 2010 9:53 pm

    That soup looks beautiful! Sounds delicious too…esp with your idea of adding bacon crumbled on top πŸ™‚

  5. Kamiell Waters permalink
    May 26, 2012 9:19 pm

    just made this tonight and it tastes amazing hot, im just itching to try it tommorow when its cold!

Leave a Reply

