Skip to content

Get Cooking: Pesto Chicken with Roast Corn and Tomatoes

June 7, 2010

My Mom used to spend hours in the kitchen every night making dinner. I mean, she was creating restaurant-quality dishes from around the globe, but growing up thinking that cooking dinner = we won’t eat until 8 or 9 pm put in my head that making anything from scratch takes a long time. A “I need to have a sandwich and a cookie when I get home from school” long time. A “I’m missing the beginning of Dawson’s Creek!” long time.

Though I will spend probably my entire life trying to gain the culinary skills my Mom has honed so brilliantly, my own kitchen adventures have proven that dinner doesn’t have to take 2 hours, or even 1 hour, to cook.

Take tonight’s dinner, so easy, fresh, and put in the oven for all of 30 minutes. The most complex part was taking out my food processor for the pesto, which I honestly could have made yesterday (if sitting on the couch with Z all evening didn’t sound so much more appealing). I am in love with chicken thighs, which are so much juicier and more tender than any breast I’ve had. Coupled with whole roasted cherry tomatoes and sweet corn, who’s flavors are locked in during roasting and explode once you take a bite, there was some amazing taste bud sensory overload at the dinner table.

Pesto Chicken with Roast Corn and Tomatoes


For the Chicken:

2 skin on, bone in chicken thighs

Salt, pepper, garlic powder and 2 teaspoons olive oil

For the Pesto:

About 2 cups of fresh basil

2 cloves garlic

1/4 cup walnuts

1/2 cup parmesan cheese or 2 tablespoons miso

1/4 cup olive oil

For the Corn and Tomatoes

1 pint cherry tomatoes

1 ear fresh corn or 1/2 bag frozen corn

Salt, pepper, garlic powder and 2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat the oven to 400*

Sprinkle the chicken thighs with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Pour over the olive oil and rub the seasoning into and under the skin. Put in the oven for 30 minutes, or until the chicken is no longer pink.

Toss the corn and tomatoes with salt, pepper, garlic and olive oil and put in the oven at the same time as the chicken for 30 minutes.

While the chicken and vegetables are cooking, put all of the pesto ingredients except for the oil into your food processor. Turn the processor on and slowly pour in the olive oil. Process until a smooth paste forms. Taste and season with more salt and pepper if necessary.

When the chicken is done, serve on a plate with pesto spread on top and the vegetables to the side.

The perfect farmer’s market fresh meal. All of this was from my weekend trip to Haymarket! Yum.

*************************************************************************************

Don’t forget about my TrueBlood Recipe Roundup and Giveaway with Cara! Enter today!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 2:14 am

    The pictures look stunning. It sounds delicious. I love this recipe. Can’t wait to try this.

  2. June 8, 2010 5:36 am

    Oh that looks so yummy. I LOVE pesto!

  3. June 8, 2010 10:51 am

    I’ve never had pesto. Do you believe it?!

  4. June 8, 2010 7:55 pm

    Pesto just screams summer to me! Especially when I can go right outside my kitchen and pick fresh basil. This is so fresh and delicious looking!

Trackbacks

  1. Love Your Leftovers: Pesto and White Bean Tart « Yumventures
  2. What’s In Season: July « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

