Skip to content

Eat It Too: Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

June 9, 2010

If there’s one type of cookie I like, its peanut butter. A peanut butter cookie is an instant sweet-salty mix, which might be my favorite thing in the entire world.

Being gluten free I’m a nervous baker. Oh, I didn’t share with you the margarita cupcakes I made last month? Yeah, that’s because they were a disaster. As much as I would love to say I always have complete success at my gluten free baking adventures, I can’t. Unless you want my margarita cupcakes. They’re in the trash.

But then I find those amazing recipes for baked goods that require no flour, and therefore should come out perfectly instead of preparing myself for inevitable disaster. A recipe that is naturally gluten free. It makes my heart sing!

These, my friends, are a must make. And I don’t say that often about a dessert. Anyone would love these, gluten free or not. They are soft, luscious, and deliciously smooth. I put my own twist on them with dark chocolate chips and a sprinkling of sea salt on top. The salt was magnificent. Even magical. (They do say elves make cookies, after all).

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies (adapted from Healthy Food for Living)

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I used S&S Nature’s Promise)
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg white, lightly whipped
1/4 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
Few good pinches of sea salt

Preheat the oven to 375*

Prepare a baking sheet by topping it with a piece of non-stick parchment paper (I like to spray the pan wit cooking spray first, so the paper sticks!)

Cream together the peanut butter, sugar, egg white, and vanilla. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Scoop out the batter about 1 – 2 tablespoons a cookie (should make 8 – 10 cookies). Top with sea salt.

Bake for 10 – 12 minutes. Let cool on the tray for 5 minutes, then transfer to a baking rack and cool completely. These cookies will stay pretty soft, so be careful. Its all part of their charm.



Try not to eat them all. Or eat them all, then bake another batch. They only take about 20 minutes start to finish. The perfect weeknight treat.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 8:34 pm

    YUM I love PB cookies too. Can you have oats? If so, have you tried Monster Cookies?

  2. Lauren permalink
    June 9, 2010 9:25 pm

    Ooh these look delicious. Though they only make 8-10? I would want to double or triple the recipe!

    • June 10, 2010 7:33 pm

      I made them a second time and got 12. But I highly recommend doubling!

  3. June 10, 2010 5:23 am

    So glad you made the cookies and enjoyed them! I’m thinking of making another batch with dark chocolate peanut butter and peanut butter chips. Mmmmmm.

  4. June 10, 2010 5:46 am

    Those look to die for!

  5. June 10, 2010 10:15 am

    Yum yum yum! I’d make these they’re easy!

  6. June 10, 2010 11:43 am

    I love anything made of peanut butter! These look really really good too. I especially like the sea salt that you added. Peanut butter kissed with a touch of salt is heaven.

  7. June 10, 2010 5:36 pm

    I SO wish I had one of these right now! And I love that they only have 6 ingredients!

    • June 10, 2010 7:32 pm

      My favorite part! And I always have them on hand 🙂

  8. June 11, 2010 3:30 pm

    These look so soft and yummy! They remind me of the PB kiss cookies I used to make when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

