Skip to content

Get Cooking: Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce

June 10, 2010

Tonight was one of those “I don’t feel like cooking” nights. Everyone knows what it’s like. You have a long week/day/commute/phone call, and all I can do is collapse on my bed the moment I walk in the door.

It used to be days like these, before I learned to cook, that I would throw a Lean Cuisine in the microwave.

Thankfully I’m beyond Lean Cuisine now (and you should be too!) and this meal is by far simpler than a frozen box, with only 4 ingredients, all of who’s names I can pronounce. (OK, nothing is easier than putting plastic in the microwave, but you seriously have time to make this.)

My first “I love you, baked eggs” moment came from a French restaurant in Williamsburg, Brooklyn: Fada. Who knew that eggs, tomatoes, and goat cheese could make a brunch so much better (blasphemy!) than any omelet I ever had (and that a restaurant could have such an aesthetic that you instantly want to have an espresso and a cigarette)? I have feared making them for myself, for if they didn’t turn out right I would have to instantly run to Fada to remedy my taste bud situation, which is no longer possible now that I live 4 hours away.

Tonight, that fear was remedied.

As simple as sautéing, cracking, and baking, tonight Z and I enjoyed freshly baked eggs.

Baked Eggs in Tomato Sauce


1 small onion

1 can petite diced tomatoes, with juice

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

½ teaspoon salt

A few good grinds of pepper

4 eggs

2 oz crumbled goat cheese

Preheat the oven to 350*

Roughly chop the onion and sauté in a pan until soft. Add the can of tomatoes and seasoning and heat until the liquid is reduced by half.

In an oven proof dish (I used a pie dish, it was the perfect size!) spoon in the tomatoes to cover the bottom of the dish.

Using a spoon, create 4 egg-sized indents in the tomatoes.

Crack an egg into each indentation. Crumble the goat cheese over the top.

Bake for the following times, depending on how cooked you like your yolk: 10 – 12 minutes (runny), 12 – 15 minutes (semi-runny), 15 – 18 minutes (semi-hard), 18 – 20 minutes (well done)

We played French music, pretended we were back in Brooklyn, and ate this with some glorious buttered toast. Fada, I now see the truth behind your amazing brunch. Its just simplicity at its best.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 9:11 pm

    Funny that I am eating a boiled egg as I eat this and let me tell you, your eggs look was tastier!

    This looks delicious, easy, and I actually have these ingredients on hand. I can’t wait to try it!

  2. June 11, 2010 8:20 am

    I love how easy baked eggs are. I guess it helps they’re super yummy too!

  3. June 11, 2010 9:08 am

    This is dish looks awesome. I make a similar-looking dish, shakshuka, where I saute vegetables, pour tomato sauce over them, and then poach two eggs on top.

  4. June 11, 2010 3:29 pm

    This looks really delicious, Sophie. The goat cheese is a nice touch!

  5. June 12, 2010 1:42 pm

    This looks sooo delicious! I’ve never thought to make something like this for dinner, but it looks so fabulously delicious AND easy. Plus, I”m always a sucker for goat cheese!

Leave a Reply

