Skip to content

The New Yumventures!

June 13, 2010

Hi Everyone!

Welcome to the new Yumventures!

I’ve been making a few changes over the past few months, really analyzing where my blog has been and where it is going.

Looking back, I see how many excuses I used to make not to cook. I have a full time job, go to school part time, live with my boyfriend, and have so many family and social obligations my calendar is overflowing. But once I started putting a little more thought into my meals, and a touch more effort, I realized just how easy and enjoyable it is to make your own food, without giving up your entire evening or breaking the bank.

I want Yumventures to be a tool for everyone to help them get off the couch and into the kitchen. Over the past 6 months that is what its helped me do. My nights of take out and canned soup have become home cooked, healthy meals. I have learned that it doesn’t take a lot of time, energy, or money to cook for myself and Z. We lost weight, feel better, tried so many new things. And, my cooking skills have improved (which was the purpose of Yumventures from the beginning)!

I’m still going to be sharing great recipes but have even more in store. You may have noticed some new categories popping up:

~Get Cooking: Recipes, from the usual dinner (Get Cooking), to using leftovers from the night before (Love Your Leftovers), and special dessert indulgences (Eat It Too)

~Meal Plan Game Plan: Planning tips, from meal planning (Plan It!), grocery shopping (Working the Aisles), and keeping your money in your pocket (Beat Your Budget)

~Say What?!: Answering kitchen’s mysteries, from gadgets and cookware (What The?!) to recipe know-how now written in hieroglyphics (How The?!)

~Let Me Entertain: Seriously, nowadays people just don’t entertain enough! Tips and stories of my entertaining adventures.

I hope that you, like me, will realize the importance of cooking for yourself and will stop complaining about the time/money/effort/knowledge it takes to do so. Because its really no work at all! A little effort goes a long way, and I’m here to show you how. Believe me, I know. I used to whine about cooking all the time.

Yumventures: navigating you from whining to dining.

**************************************************

Tonight I am not only celebrating the re-vamp of Yumventures, but the total vampy-ness of the TrueBlood season premiere! Cara and I have been hosting a recipe roundup and giveaway that ends tomorrow, so if you haven’t entered yet, make sure you do!

In true TrueBlood style, Z and I celebrated with culinary creations. Those Southern vampires like to eat, and we do too! Starting with Z’s famous gumbo (a recipe I could not get him to share!) we are watching the premiere in style with TrueBlood-y Marys. Not your typical brunch drink, but one with a slight sweetness that would keep vampires away from human blood much more than that nasty drink they are selling in convenience stores.

TrueBlood-y Mary

1 shot vodka

1 teaspoon horseradish with beets

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 cup tomato juice

4 dashes Worcestershire sauce

5 dashes hot sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Shake all ingredients together with ice and serve.

Yes, we have ice cubes that are shaped like skulls. Who doesn’t?!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Jamie permalink
    June 13, 2010 7:48 pm

    What a cute new design!! I love the blog Sophie and you have motivated me to start cooking more for myself too! Ok so I do occasionally eat cereal for dinner but now its because I want it and not because I don’t know how to cook! Looking forward to exploring your new sections!

  2. June 13, 2010 7:53 pm

    Your new site looks great! 🙂 And I am loving the new features!

  3. June 13, 2010 8:59 pm

    What a cute new header – love it! And I’m excited to see your entertaining tips 🙂

  4. June 13, 2010 9:02 pm

    I love the ice cubes!!

    Have you every tried a Caesar? I like them better than Bloody Mary’s. They’re made with clamato juice instead of tomato juice. :d

  5. June 13, 2010 9:15 pm

    Love the new header. I’ve never had a Bloody Mary before…

  6. June 13, 2010 9:27 pm

    I LOVE the new look of your blog!! Super cute!! And that picture of you is fabulous!!! 🙂

  7. June 14, 2010 8:51 am

    This looks great and I love your theme! I hope to learn a lot 🙂

  8. June 14, 2010 10:48 am

    Love the new header and plan. I’ve been thinking awhile about my blog and what I might want to do differently and need a weekend to lay out a game plan. 🙂 For me the secret to still cooking on the nights I’d rather do something else is to do as much ahead of time when I am in the mood. Saturday is usually my grocery shopping day (since the farmers’ market is open and provides a lot of inspiration) and sunday I try to get as much prep out of the way as possible. I often find since I am not rushed for time I enjoy it so much more.

  9. June 14, 2010 2:52 pm

    I’m a little behind on True Blood, reading book #3 now and in the middle of season 2 on HBO on demand… but I’m excited to get caught up with everyone!
    The new design looks great and I love the features, very accessible for the home cook 🙂

  10. June 14, 2010 7:52 pm

    I love your new look! And I admire you for making the time to cook when you already have a full plate. I’m excited for you – you sound motivated and very enthusiastic. It’s inspiring. I’ve only seen the first few episodes of season 1 of True Blood. Working my way slowly through it. Sorry I didn’t get a recipe in to you.

Leave a Reply

