Skip to content

Southwest Flat Bread Pizza

June 29, 2010

I like to use a lot of spices in my cooking. Indian, Thai, Mexican, I always add a variety of flavors to kick up the jazz in every bite. When I am writing out my recipes I usually cut down the amount of cayenne pepper or garlic powder I really use, and replace it with what a normal person would enjoy.

Confession: I used to hate spicy food.

I don’t just mean hate, I mean that I couldn’t even stomach mild salsa, and would just dip my tortilla chip into the tomato juice on the top of the jar and still my eyes would water. I hated garlic, I hated onions. My parents (food connoisseurs in their own right) would have to suffer through under-seasoning every dish so I would eat it. No wonder I still have to have Z taste everything before I actually serve it. My taste buds are just developing.

It was Z who really got me into spicy foods, mostly because he wouldn’t put up with my childish winging of why we had to order medium Buffalo wings instead of mild. Or even better, sauce on the side? He would roll his eyes when I would order pad thai “but could you spice it between medium and mild, though more mild but not flavorless?” Yep, I got over that pretty fast. He puts a lot of wasabi in the soy sauce when we eat sushi.

I’ve grown to love spice and flavor so much that even pizza sometimes seems boring. Cheese and tomato sauce? Even loaded with veggies or some pepperoni, pizza just always tastes like…pizza. Until I get my hands on it.

This Southwestern style pizza is full of Emeril (BAM!). The smokey paprika and cayenne-spiced tomato sauce is the perfect base for the even spicier chicken, combined in a bite with the sweet caramelized onions, the creamy cheese, and the fresh crunch of peppers. Topping it all on leftovers of last nights tortillas, chewy in the center and crunchy along the crust, these are flatbread pizzas that are simple enough for a weeknight meal, yet I would have no problem serving them as appetizers for a summer dinner party.

Southwest Flat Bread Pizza


4 tortillas
5-6 chicken tenders

Water to cover

Salt and pepper

1/2 teasp0on paprika

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Z’s pizza sauce, with added 1/2 teaspoon paprika and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 cup mixed peppers

1/2 cup mushrooms

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 avocado

Preheat oven to 350*

In a medium sauce pan, add the chicken tenders and cover with water. Add salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then turn the head to low, cover, and simmer for 10 minutes or until the chicken is no longer pink.

Cut the chicken into bite sized pieces. Toss with paprika and cayenne pepper.

Put the tortillas on a wire rack. Top with the pizza sauce and cheese, peppers, mushrooms, chicken, and avocado. Bake for 15 minutes or until toppings have warmed through and cheese has melted.



For the record, I still hate cutting onions. They make me cry.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 6:44 am

    Yum! This looks great!

    I love, love, love spicy foods, but my husband is kind of a baby about them 🙂

  2. June 30, 2010 9:04 am

    I used to hate spicy food too! and my roommate worked to change that–and kind of has! here’s to our new acquired taste for heat 😉

  3. June 30, 2010 1:36 pm

    This looks so delicious!! Can you believe I’ve never had avocado on a pizza? I just know I would adore it. Need to try that out ASAP!! 🙂

  4. June 30, 2010 2:34 pm

    Awesome idea to make flatbread pizza on tortillas for a quick fix. I cannot even imagine not eating garlic and spices!! And yes, I don’t understand how people are satisfied with just plain cheese pizza! Chris hated spicy foods until about 2 years ago… Now he eats things that I can’t even smell without my eyes watering. It’s never hot ENOUGH for him. So it’s definitely something you can develop 🙂

  5. July 2, 2010 8:39 pm

    I love really spicy food too – but have to tone it down for my family. Wimps. I love these – avocado is one thing I’ve never had on a pizza!

Leave a Reply

