Skip to content

Homemade Tortillas

July 1, 2010

I’ve complained before about gluten free tortillas. They are normally all kinds of hard, inflexible, and not even that tasty. Even my beloved corn tortillas are only good for certain things, while any rolling action just leads to breakage (which is why I make my own corn crepes!).

I was sick of breakage, and I wanted to fix that!

I found this recipe from the appropriately named Gluten Free Cooking School and these tortillas are honestly the best things ever! I served them to two gluten-loving folks, who not only couldn’t tell they lacked the glutton but they were super delicious for what they were! Bendy, floury, and crunchy while chewy, I now plan to use these guys in a variety of recipes!

And they are easy to make. And fun. Good thing Z wasn’t home while I was cooking or he would have found me dancing around with flat pieces of dough and yelling “OMG its poofing!” out loud to the Top Chef contestants that were playing on my laptop.

Cooking is fun!

On to the tortillas:

Gluten Free Flour Tortillas (adapted from Gluten Free Cooking School)

1 and 1/2 cup gluten free flour mix
1/2 cup corn starch
1 and 1/2 teaspoon xanthan gum
2 teaspoons sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup warm water

Thoroughly mix together the dry ingredients.

Add the cup of warm water and mix (with your hands!) until all the try ingredients are wet. It gets pretty sticky!

Separate the dough into 8 balls.

Sprinkle a flat surface with flour.

One ball at a time, use a rolling pin (also dusted with flour) to roll out the balls to circles as large and flat as you can without A) making holes in the dough and B) sticking the dough to your surface. Do to this:

Start with a good circular ball.

Flatten the ball into a nicer circle.

As you roll the ball, gently turn and flip the dough as you go, making sure there is enough flour so there is no stickage.

Once you have your tortilla, heat a non-stick pan over medium high. Place the tortilla in the hot pan.

After about a minute or two the dough will have puffed a bit on one side and have developed some nice brown tortilla markings. Flip that baby over and cook on the other side for one or two minutes, or until also slightly browned.

Continue with the rest of the dough until you have 8, wonderful tortillas!

I’m ready for some burritos! It will be the 4th of July, Mexican style!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Lauren permalink
    July 2, 2010 7:13 am

    Hooray! These look wonderful! What a great success story.

  2. July 2, 2010 7:50 am

    those look awesome! i have to try making some tortillas, i’m sure they’re so much better homemade 🙂

  3. July 2, 2010 8:31 am

    mm looks fun to make! I have a tortilla recipe lying around somewhere. i think there are only like 3 ingredients in them..i’ll have to check them out and see how the compare! have a great 4th of july!!

  4. July 2, 2010 12:50 pm

    These look fabulous! I’ve never used xanthan gum before! I’ll definitely recommend this to my gluten-free friends 🙂

  5. July 2, 2010 3:07 pm

    yay for gluten free tortillas! So glad you found a recipe that works, cause life without burritos would be just plain boring 🙂

  6. July 2, 2010 8:43 pm

    I’m glad these were a success! Corn tortillas are hard to work with. Happy 4th – have a great weekend!

  7. July 6, 2010 11:16 am

    Awesome!! You know I love me some homemade bread. You so adventurous for doing gluten free versions.

Leave a Reply

