Skip to content

Banana Oatmeal Muffins

July 5, 2010

Some days I think I must be the World’s Worst Snacker (and therefore, the World’s Best?). I cannot say no to a creamy brie on a cracker, to the spicy mango salsa, or that last piece of turkey sitting in the fridge. Or a handful of almonds. Or a cold roast potato.

And you thought I was exaggerating.

As part of the “recasting stage” of becoming French, and with the use of the FitBook I won from Rachel a few weeks ago, the first step is to look at what you eat over the course of three weeks and take note of where your weaknesses are. There was no question here for me: #1 was snacks.

Now, I’m not about to give up my love affair with Tostitos, and plan on savoring every bite of guacamole I have for the rest of my life, but I’ve spent the past few weeks coming up with snack ideas that are delicious and healthful. Just don’t tell Betty Crocker I’ve cracked the code!

While perfecting my homemade granola bars and whipping up some date and cashew nut wonders, today I am sharing with you the perfect semi-sweet treat, the most heart-healthy-fruit-filled-gluten-free baked good to date, inspired by the oatmeal pancakes I once made: banana oatmeal muffins.

Not your typical Dunkin Donuts “I look like a muffin but really I’m an individual-sized cake” muffins, these little guys have all the goodness of those bran cereals you fed to the dog when your Mom wasn’t looking, and the moistness and flavor of your favorite banana bread. And they are so much cheaper than said DD muffins, especially when you aren’t going to charge yourself $4 for an iced coffee.

Banana Oatmeal Muffins (adapted from Half Baked)

11/4 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup yogurt, plain low fat
1/2 cup milk, low fat
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup vegetable oil
2 bananas,  mashed
1 egg, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cup oat flour
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 400*

In a bowl mix together rolled oats, yogurt and milk. Let soak for 10 minutes.

Mix oat flour, salt, spices, baking powder and baking soda in a bowl.

Add brown sugar, mashed banana, egg and oil to rolled oats mixture. Mix well.

Add dry ingredients to the rolled oats mixture. Mix well. Fill greased or paper lined muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake for approximately 20 minutes.


These may be more addictive than Hint of Lime tortillas. Okay…maybe not.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 7:27 am

    Oooh, one of my big weaknesses is snacking too. Sigh.

    These look great!

  2. July 6, 2010 8:15 am

    oh i don’t really like the hint of lime–so these look more delicious! Snacking is rough, i think everyone battles. it’s all about moderation and being sensible. But I’m no expert.

  3. July 7, 2010 12:24 pm

    I’ll definitely be trying these! Muffin lova here 🙂

Leave a Reply

