Skip to content

Mini Polenta Pizzas

July 8, 2010

I have to admit, sometimes I spend a little too much time in the kitchen. Even when my recipes are as simple as pie, I’m always fussing around, making the tomato slices cascade in perfection or getting a dollop of sour cream to look perfect on top of my chili. Even chopping vegetables can be a 10 minute process, as I daydream about the results and forget all about the carrot I’m dicing (until the knife almost gets the best of me).

Last night, was my first night of class. As I raced home at 8 pm, starved out of my mind after hunting down a security guard to finally take a picture for my ID, I thought there was no way dinner was going to be good. I didn’t have time. I needed to eat NOW.

Aah. Gotta love leftovers!

Having made a double-batch of polenta after Monday’s pie crust, I had spread it out thinly on a baking sheet, wrapped it in cling film, and shoved it in the fridge. Coming home to such amazing (and somehow forgotten!) leftovers is like finding a $20 bill in last summer’s shorts. Jackpot!

Though this meal may be simple, it is quick, filling, and so delicious. There may not be a “real” recipe, but there’s also no plastic microwaved trays or precooked boxed macaroni involved. 15 minutes and these guys were in my stomach, absorbing all 2.5 hours of financial analysis I had just sat through.

Mini Polenta Pizzas


1 batch of cooked polenta

Marinara or pizza sauce

Cheddar or mozzarella cheese

Your choice of vegetable toppings (We used spinach. It cooks up SO quickly!)

The night before, spread your soft polenta in a layer over a greased baking sheet, about 1/4 – 1/2 and inch thick. Let cool overnight.

When its dinner time, preheat the oven to 400*

Cut the polenta into bite-sized pieces. Place on a wire rack in the oven and cook for 10 minutes, or until they begin to get crispy.

When the polenta has crisped, take them out of the oven. Top each piece with tomato sauce, veggies, and cheese. Place back in the oven for 5 minutes, or until the cheese has melted.

These would make a great party snack, and they are so much easier than making pizza dough! But they also make an amazing after class dinner, especially since I ate over half of them. Using my brain makes me hungry!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 9:15 am

    These look great!! The first thing I thought of when I saw them was that they’d be great for entertaining guests.

  2. July 9, 2010 10:11 am

    i love that you come up with creative ways to use leftovers. nice.

  3. July 9, 2010 10:29 am

    I could not agree more! While you’re WAY more creative with your leftovers than I…I am a huge leftovers fan! So convenient 🙂

  4. July 9, 2010 10:45 am

    I love your polenta recipes lately! These look perfect for those nights when you’re starving and can’t bear to think/spend a lot of time in the kitchen. I LOVE leftovers 🙂

  5. July 10, 2010 4:30 am

    Yum! I’ve never made polenta on my own. I should try it at least once though.

  6. July 10, 2010 9:06 pm

    This is a delicious idea for polenta Sophie! Much better than eating something pre-made out of a package. Leftovers to the rescue – again – you’re so good like that!

  7. July 10, 2010 9:12 pm

    What tasty little polenta bites! You’ve reminded me that I have some polenta in the pantry that I should use soon 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about your classes!

  8. July 12, 2010 5:59 pm

    ooh, classes already! hope they’re going well 🙂 these look awesome, and i love how quickly they come together. i usually end up doing eggs when i come home late and ravenous, but i have some polenta in the cupboard so i need to try this next time!!

  9. July 13, 2010 9:10 pm

    haha, another thing we have in common – no such thing as quick cooking, I always find myself taking longer than expected for no good reasons at all!

Leave a Reply

