Skip to content

Spiced Meatballs with Mint Cucumber Yogurt Sauce

July 12, 2010

My sleeping habits have recently taken a turn for the worse.

After my first MBA class last week I am so excited to begin working towards my Masters (and on to a bright future!) but I failed to acknowledge that I’ve never studied anything like this in my life. Financial statements and management analysis? That doesn’t sound like making movies to me!

I also overlooked the fact that this summer course is an accelerated one, meaning class twice a week and double the amount of homework. Yes, I will be working on my midterm during my Nantucket beach vacation. *sigh*

However, I am managing to gear up a “power through” mentality. Whenever I face an obstacle in my life, I allow myself to wallow for 15 minutes before putting my game face on and getting all Mike Tyson on the task ahead.

This also means that I’m gearing up to bite the ear off my weekly meals. No more futzing around in the kitchen, dancing to Bel Biv Devoe and making Z “happy snacks” to get him through his contracts homework?

(Hopefully) much to my dear readers’ delight, my recipes are going to become even speedier, yum-ing my way to the table in a half hour or less. Those balance sheets aren’t going to write themselves! And tonight was no exception. Blazing home at 8:30 pm I was chowing down by 9. But the result was not a boxed and microwaved meal, but moist and flavorful delights, full of spice in each bite. Paired with a cooling yogurt sauce, specked with fresh mint and cucumber, they were the perfect excuse to take a break in my day and just enjoy the taste.

Spiced Meatballs with Mint Cucumber Yogurt Sauce


For the Meatballs

1 lb ground chicken or turkey

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 tablespoon cumin

1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/2 tablespoon paprika

1 teaspoon garlic powder

Salt and pepper

1/4 onion, grated

For the Yogurt Sauce

1/2 cup non fat yogurt

2 tablespoons fresh mint, finely chopped

1/2 cucumber, de-seeded and finely chopped

To Serve

Brown rice

Spinach

Preheat the oven to 400*

Put the rice on to cook per instructions.

Put all of the ingredients for the meatballs in a medium bowl. Mix together with your hands until all spices and the onion are thoroughly incorporated.

Spray a wire rack with Pam and place it over a baking dish of the same size. With your hands, shape meatballs that are a little smaller than a golf ball. (I made 21 meatballs in my batch). Place the meatballs on the wire rack and bake for 25 – 30 minutes, or until no longer pink in the middle. The baking sheet below the rack with catch any fat that bakes off of the meatballs.

To make the yogurt, combine all of the ingredients and let marinade in the fridge while the meatballs are cooking.

Wilt spinach in the microwave by placing it in a small bowl, adding 2 tablespoons of water, and microwaving for 1 minute and 30 seconds.

To serve, put rice in bowl, top with spinach, followed by meatballs. Spoon yogurt sauce over top.

And the best thing about these meatballs is they are the perfect leftover protein filled snack. For when you crave meat at 11:30 pm as a result of essentially consuming the lid of your Bic pen as you gnaw in frustration.

Or when you skip out on you work a little early to watch this week’s episode of True Blood. You know, either of those.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 4:26 am

    Yummy! I love anything with a yogurt sauce.
    I often skip out of work to go home and watch things on my dvr, so this is perfect for me.

  2. Jamie permalink
    July 13, 2010 7:00 am

    Yum! I’m totally going to make these!

    And you can do it!! I (along with Nantucket) give you free license to work on your midterm here; that’s what I would have to do if I was in classes right now. It’s the end goal that is important. Oh and we have central air so you’ll at least get a break from the mainland heat 🙂

  3. July 13, 2010 8:16 am

    Hmm… I’d love to try these with ground lamb. It’s fatty enough to make really tasty meatballs, and there’s really something about the classic lamb and mint combo

  4. July 13, 2010 12:32 pm

    Congrats on starting your MBA!!! That’s super exciting!!

    These look delicious… I love making meatballs and bet the addition of mint is delightful!

  5. July 13, 2010 12:47 pm

    i like to skip out of work a couple minutes early on friday–so rebellious!

  6. July 13, 2010 9:12 pm

    Yum! I love the sound of those spices with the cool cucumber sauce.

  7. July 18, 2010 2:39 pm

    Cumin is one of my favorite spices so the spiced meatballs are right up my alley – yum!

  8. May 29, 2013 2:38 am

    You’ve made some decent points there. I looked on the net to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with your views on this site.

  9. May 29, 2013 2:56 am

    Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this site? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  10. October 18, 2013 7:58 am

    I write a comment whenever I especially enjoy a article on a website or
    if I have something to contribute to thee discussion.
    It is caused by the fire displayed inn the article I looked at.
    And on this post Spiced Meatballs with Mint Cucumber Yogurt Sauce | Yumventures.
    I was actually moved enough to post a thought 😉 I actually ddo have 2 questions for you if you don’t mind.
    Could it be simply me or does it look as if like some of the comments look like left by brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are posting on additional online sites, I would like to follow
    everything fresh you have to post. Could you make a list every one of all
    your public pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or
    linkedin profile?

  11. July 17, 2014 9:50 am

    If some one wishes to be updated with hottest
    technologies therefore he must be pay a quick visit
    this website and be up to date daily.

Trackbacks

  1. Mexican Meatballs with Tomato Corn Salsa « Yumventures

Leave a Reply

