Skip to content

Summer Rolls

July 20, 2010

Let’s talk about double-dipping for a minute.

On second thought, rewind.

I have a confession. I fibbed a bit yesterday. That amazing peanut sauce from Le’s, that I usually pour all over the bun I obviously need to eat every day, isn’t actually served with the bun. That sauce, my friends, comes with their summer rolls. As as I eat the summer rolls and have sauce left over before the main course is served, I hide the white ramekin behind a tower constructed of napkin holder, soy sauce, and chop sticks so the waiter doesn’t remove it from my power before the glorious bowl of noodles arrives. I just can’t say no to the peanut sauce. Or building a fort of restaurant utensils.

So today, as my usual self, I just can’t be satisfied. Eating my A La Le’s bowl last night I knew something was missing. The precursor summer rolls.

So back to the double-dipping.

I’ve never understood why people are so against double-dipping. I, for one, often eat foods solely for the purpose of their condiments (french fries – ketchup, scrambled eggs – ketchup, tortilla chips – guacamole, potato chips -ketchup. You get the idea.) so what is the point of eating the entire dish when I can only get one bite of condiment for every 3 bites of fry? Among the few friends I have who do not condone the double-dip (I have nice friends, who understand my condiment needs) I usually cover my fry by dipping it until completely submerged in sauce bliss before biting. You may think I’m weird. I think your weird for thinking I have germs.

So in my mind, making my own summer rolls automatically means I am not only allowed to double dip, but triple dip if necessary. And I have a special amendment to use a fork to eat any escapee vegetables that have “fallen” into the condiment. No, I did not let them take the dive on purpose. I swear.

Summer rolls are a little complicated to put into words so, here comes the tutorial!

Summer Rolls


Prepare the following:

1 package rice wrappers

1 lb ground turkey, stir fried until no longer pink with soy sauce, salt and pepper

Julienned versions of any of your favorite veggies: carrots, onions, cabbage, peppers

Fresh cilantro and mint

A sauce of 1/4 cup soy cause, 1/8 cup Worcestershire sauce, and 1 inch of fresh grated ginger

First, get a bowl of warm water big enough to fit one of your rice wrappers.

Then, gently place one of your rice wrappers in the warm water. Hold the wrapper in the water until it gets soft, about 15 seconds. You will notice a difference in texture, it quickly goes from rigid to soft.

When the wrapper is soft, place it on a 2-ply damp paper towel that is on a flat surface.

(I swear its there. Its just blending in with the white).

Then, in the middle of the wrapper, add your fillings. Make sure to leave a 1 inch border on either end.

Now, its time to wrap!

Fold up the sides of both of the ends, so they cover the fillings slightly.

Then fold over one side tightly over the filling.

Then, roll the side with the filling forward while wrapping the remaining side tightly around it. This takes a few times to get right, but you’ll get it!

Ta-da! Summer rolls! Reading for dipping into that amazing soy ginger sauce.

The other great thing about making double-dippables at home is that not only can you dip multiple times without evil glares and awkward glances, but you can just pour the sauce all over your meal. That is why home cooking is heaven.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 12:46 pm

    the only time I DONT double dip is when Im at a public gathering and I dont know if the people would be offended…although I have heard it actually IS really germy!

    Just made fruit spring rolls on Raw Monday—sooo good.

  2. July 21, 2010 12:52 pm

    Your summer rolls look so perfect and delicious!!

  3. July 21, 2010 1:44 pm

    I’ve always wanted to make these, but for some reason I never have… Yours look fabulous!! I love that peanut sauce too.

    I always double dip, unless I’m with a crowd… If it’s my family, bf, or close friends, I’ll do it. If not, I won’t… I mean, I know I don’t have germs, but they might πŸ™‚ hehe.

  4. July 21, 2010 8:29 pm

    Sophie you can double dip with me any time! Except when it comes to peanut sauce. And no, that’s not because I think you have germs – it’s because clearly we each need our own little bowl. I looove peanut sauce Well I’m pretty much like you when it comes to condiments! Sometimes I just “put up with” chips with in order to get to the salsa.

  5. July 22, 2010 8:07 am

    Ah I double dip ALL THE TIME. I blame Seinfeld for the anti-double dip movement. Did anyone even think of that before Seinfeld?

    I’m usually embarrassed when caught double dipping, so instead I flip my chip or veggie over and dip the other side.

  6. July 22, 2010 10:27 am

    Mmm, peanut sauce πŸ™‚ the only time i don’t double-dip is when it’s at a public gathering… or i just try to hide it πŸ˜‰

  7. July 22, 2010 7:38 pm

    It’s not so much the germs I don’t like…it’s the spit. But amongst family and close friends it’s usually not an issue. Anywhoo your spring rolls are lovely! They look way better than any I’ve ever made. And peanut sauce? I could drink the stuff!

Leave a Reply

