Skip to content

Hollaback Post and Barbecue Meal

July 24, 2010
tags:

Thank you so much for all of your sweet comments about my story with Z! I was so happy that I could share one of the greatest days (and longest planned surprises — 8 months in the making!) with you all. Since then I’ve been scheming how I can get him back. Anyone have any ideas?

The weekend is already running away from me, with the sun shining though my window and my friend texting me that its time to get to the pool – NOW! I hope you are out and enjoying this amazing summer weather.

If you have a minute, please check my post on Hollaback Health: Don’t Feel Guilty If…You Eat Meat. I am now officially a Hollaback Health girl, and am so happy to be part of this amazing blogger’s blog! Whether you are a meat eater or a vegan, check out my post about being inclusive when writing about your food choices!

And speaking of meat…

Z’s birthday was a success! We dined at the fabulous Soulfire in Allston.

Let me tell you, I’ve never been to the South, but I can only imagine that Soulfire is the best barbecue ever.

Sliced brisket, slow cooked chicken, spare ribs, mac and cheese (topped with bbq potato chips), cornbread, and the best baked beans I’ve ever had in my life. Ever. I talked the rest of the night of how I would like a vat of them to bathe in. And it would not be gross or dirty because they are the most amazing things ever. The end.

While our plate was a bit of meat-overload, since it was Z’s birthday on all we figured it was alright to splurge and consume our combined body weights while getting to try a variety of the dishes they offer. What makes this all even better are the 4 sauces that are served on your table, that you can mix and match with the meats as you please. The Pitboss was my favorite, with a nice kick but also that wonderful, smoky barbecue sweetness that summer is just made for.

But what puts this place on the top of my “to recommend” list is its story. The owner never intended to open a restaurant. He fell in love with barbecuing – the slow roasting, the marinading, the time and care it takes to make everything perfect, and he began to see that it is near impossible to make perfect barbecue at home. Why would he continue to keep all of  this wonderful flavor from the world? So Soulfire was created, and as you sit there consuming the best ribs you’ve ever had and listen to the constantly playing soul music you wonder, “Is this heaven?”

They also sell the baked beans by the pint. It may have been “Happy Birthday to Z”, but my goodness, “Happy Birthday to ME!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2010 7:34 am

    I’m not even a fan of brisket and that looks delicous to me. Either my tastes are changing or that place is incredible. I have a true love for baked beans. If I ordered a pint of them I’m sure I’d dig in and not quit until the container was empty! 🙂 Have a great Sunday.

  2. July 26, 2010 8:51 am

    Great Hollaback Post

  3. July 26, 2010 2:23 pm

    LOVE good bbq 🙂 like your eating meat post. i have definitely cut back on my meat consumption over the past year or two, but I do enjoy certain things. I try to stick to those i love (like nice juicy burger) and try to chose better options (i.e. grass fed) when i splurge.

  4. July 26, 2010 8:44 pm

    That looks awesome! I’ve lived in Brookline for 5 years, but haven’t been there… Definitely need to try!

    By the way, your Z story was so cute… Happy birthday to him!

  5. July 26, 2010 11:31 pm

    Just commented on your “dog breed” comment over on Rachel’s blog and then came over to check out your blog. I love meat! When I first started blogging I kind of thought “whoa, should I be eating meat??” and then I probably had BBQ pulled pork and realized there was no way I can convert and be happy. Now I’ll go read past the first post I see…

  6. July 27, 2010 10:34 am

    Congrats on being a hollaback girl! Loved your article! I eat mostly vegetarian and meat occasionally – I could never give up meatballs. Or burgers. The barbecue sounds awesome – love that they give you all those sauces. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

