Skip to content

Happiness Soup

August 9, 2010

All weekend I’ve been trying to figure out why I’ve been acting so…weird.

First, I stayed in on Friday night. Which is not unusual, especially since I was still catching up on sleep from last weekend’s Nantucket debacle. Plus, Z was away, which translates to “Aah, I can do all of the cleaning and cooking I want, and do girly things like paint my toenails!” Except I didn’t do any of that. I watched 5 episodes of Boston Med and went to bed at 10 pm.

Then, despite my usual “I have a Saturday to myself and I can sleep in” mentality, I set my alarm for 9 am and went to get my hair cut. Even though there were later appointments.

And, I got bangs. I have to admit they are pretty amazing, but still…I haven’t had bangs since I was 9. If only those hats Blossom wore were still in style I would be the coolest kid in the 8th grade.

All of this lead to Saturday night, when I stayed in again. Except this time I ordered food and attempted to watch Dinner for Schmucks, which wasn’t worth an ounce of my lame Saturday night time.

Then, after going to the beach yesterday, I shower off and attempt to blow dry my new bangs. If there was ever a hidden camera show to be filming me it should have been during those minutes filled with the noise of blasting hot air, while I practically climbed atop my dresser to get a better look in the mirror, cord wrapped around me, both arms up trying to finagle my bangs around a round brush while the dryer is perching under my arm. I would have taken a moment to laugh at myself, but I would have lost eye contact with my mirror self and said bangs would have looked as feathered as Farrah Fawcett. Not that I normally care.

All of this weirdness culminated when I woke up this morning with a gland the size of an egg on the right side of my throat. Aah, I am sick!

Not many people would be so happy to make that realization, but when I’m sick I always act strangely. I crave weird foods, or no food at all. I watch TV shows that wouldn’t normally interest me and put on way too much makeup for a run across the street to Rite Aid. Which I promptly remove when I walk back in the door. Directly I know that I’m sick, I lock myself in my bedroom of solitude until my mind is right again. No commenting on blogs, no sending emails, no gchatting with coworkers about why I’m out of the office today. Sick Sophie does not have any social functionality and therefore must remove herself from the outside world.

That is until class tonight, which I had to attend since there are only 2 classes left of the semester, where I proceeded to wear a black sundress, gold shrug, and green Old Navy flip flops. Its like I went to the beach and decided to go clubbing all at once. I hope my classmates will forgive me.

When I came home from class I threw together this soup partly due to its simplicity, partly due to heavy use of tumeric (which has great healing properties), and mostly because its yellow and yellow is my favorite color. And also because it really is called Happiness Soup, which is just nice.

Happiness Soup (adapted from Nigella Lawson)

2 yellow squash, diced small

1 tablespoon olive oil

Zest and juice of 1 lemon

1 tablespoon tumeric

1 liter chicken or vegetable stock

1 cup cooked quinoa

In a saucepan, saute the squash in the oil and lemon zest and juice until beginning to soften. Add the tumeric and stir until squash is coated. Add the stock and quinoa and bring to a boil.

Now that I’ve finished the soup, I am painting my toenails purple to ensure my “Coolest Kid in the 8th Grade” status. I sure hope Z likes my new overalls!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 10:06 pm

    I’m excited to see your new bangs! What a lovely yellow soup – so perfect for summer. Hope you feel better soon Sophie!

  2. August 10, 2010 8:09 am

    I’m sorry you had a down and out kind of weekend. I’m sure your bangs look great and you’ll get the hang of them in not time. Chin up young person!

  3. August 10, 2010 8:55 am

    I think we need to see a pic of those bangs!

  4. August 10, 2010 11:19 am

    Soup looks great. Hope you’re feeling better soon!

  5. August 10, 2010 11:30 am

    BTW the bangs look great!

  6. August 10, 2010 11:52 am

    mmm that sounds like wonderful comfort food! Can’t wait to see the bangs. I love mine 🙂 but I need a trim really badly.

Leave a Reply

