Skip to content

Peach, Caramelized Onion, and Goat Cheese Tacos

August 10, 2010

My middle name is not Grace. If it was, my mother would have made a terrible error in naming me.

Some may say that I am actually quite lovely and charming in person. I can stand and chat for hours at a cocktail party, I can bring up a nice little debate while sitting in class. I can pretty much talk to anyone about anything for 25 minutes before they realize I have no idea what I am talking about. Or I really do know what I’m talking about and the night will run away with chatting and laughter. I love the word “chat”. Its so fabulous.

But grace is not one for the books.

I think there is a reason that 4 year old Sophie had no interest in ballet lessons, why 12 year old Sophie quit the cross country team, why 18 year old Sophie chipped the bone in her right ankle by walking down the stairs of her sophomore year dorm, and why 24 year old Sophie must showcase her signature dance moves, which consist of the “running man” and the “sprinkler”. Oh, and the “shopping cart”. Best one by far.

I constantly have bruises showing up on my arms and legs that I have to cover up when I go to work, lest my boss think my boyfriend is abusing me or I had some terrible accident on my way into the office. Door frames and walls are my enemy. Bathroom stalls. Stairs. Escalators. Elevators. Any form of flat walking surface. I really am, in one word, a klutz.

I had hoped that over the years I would become one of those graceful beauties that just seemed to “glide” or “float” everywhere, but instead I have the tendency to barrel into any room I enter. Z knows this is true: no matter how many times I try to scare him by jumping out from behind a door, I always end up catching my hip on the door knob and then finish by lying on the floor, trying to sound scary. Which also doesn’t work well because the last scary movie I watched was the original Scream, and I only got half way through it before having to sleep with the lights on for the next week.

While making dinner tonight, I had concocted a vision of grace and beauty. The soft pink and yellow of a peach, mellowed with white flecks of goat cheese, warmed by the brown glow of sweet caramelize onions, accented with a new green crunch of baby romaine. It was, in essence, picture perfect. Until I tried to pick the darn thing up. Thank goodness Z is away.

In the most unladylike of fashions, if no one else is around, I have no problem trying to shovel perfectly sauteed peaches into my mouth as filling spills out onto my plate. I even stopped for a second to see if there really was anyone watching. Cheese and onion was flying about, lettuce on the table, a very sad peach landing on the floor. You would think I would try to use a fork, but since I convinced myself this was a utensil-free meal these uncoordinated hands finished the job.

In any case, they were amazing. And I’m sure you can find a more graceful way to eat them than I did. Or, go all out, and enjoy them with your hands. Because not matter what happens, they will definitely taste pretty in your mouth.

Peach, Caramelized Onion, and Goat Cheese  Tacos (serves 1, adapted from Beantown Baker)

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

1 peach, sliced into 12 – 16 pieces

4 leaves of romaine lettuce, finely chopped

2 oz goat cheese, crumbled

3 corn tortillas

Spray a non-stick pan with some cooking spray and saute the onion on a low heat until it caramelizes, about 20 minutes. They will become small, translucent, brown, and slightly sweet. Put on a plate and set aside.

Spray the same pan again and add the peaches. Cook them for 3 – 4 minutes on each side, gently turning in between, until a fork easily pierces through them. Put on the plate with the onions.

To build the tacos, add some onion and peach to each corn tortilla. Top with crumbled goat cheese and then some lettuce. Enjoy the beauty, then eat!

(As a side note, thank you all for your concern about my sickness! The jury is still out but its looks as thought to be …*gulp*…mono. I guess I am the coolest 8th grader in school.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 6:12 pm

    OMG. That sounds like the best taco I could ever eat.

  2. August 10, 2010 6:27 pm

    What an incredible taco! Omg, I bet the peach and goat cheese together is amazing.

  3. August 10, 2010 7:58 pm

    Oooh how creative! I’d love to try it with grilled peaches. I love to grill fruit during the summer. Especially peaches, apricots, and pineapple.

  4. August 10, 2010 9:51 pm

    Mono, oh no 😦

    Your peach and goat cheese combo sounds heavenly. I always make a huge mess eating Mexican too – it’s definitely not first date food!

  5. August 11, 2010 6:59 am

    You should see the my friend’s dance moves. He does all the ones you listed including the microwave. It’s awesome.

    This taco sounds amazing, I just made a peach, goat cheese, and caramelized onion quesadilla last week.

  6. August 11, 2010 12:45 pm

    I’m sooo messy with tacos! This sounds like an amazing combination! I can almost imagine it, but not quite, so I guess I better make these 🙂

  7. August 13, 2010 8:46 am

    What a tasty sounding combination! You’re genius for putting it all in a taco! I bet it could be made into a dessert taco too with a few changes…

  8. August 16, 2010 7:25 pm

    Want. Need.

Leave a Reply

