Skip to content

Mango Coleslaw

August 11, 2010

The lazy days of summer are really that – lazy.

Coupled with my potential bout of mono and lack of boyfriend in the apartment, I have been tempted to just sit back with a ham and cheese sandwich and not move from my bed until I’ve completely caught up with True Blood, Top Chef, and Mad Men. My laziness also keeps me from watching any show who’s title has more than two words or two syllables. That’s just how I work when its hot outside and the AC is on.

But even when I am comfortable in lazy-bliss (which almost never happens, as I am the person who on my “day off” decides to organize my closet) I have that nagging voice inside my head. The one who tells me that I can’t just sit around and order food to my door, especially when I have been told to not visit the gym for a week (or until my swollen glands subside). Who demands that I don’t secretly order a buffalo chicken pizza, as the gluten will send my stomach into a frenzy. Who doesn’t consider a meal a bag of tortillas and a jar of salsa. Who tries to convince me that red wine is neither a food group nor a medication.

Succumbed to the voice in my head and, now, the one in my stomach, I needed a meal that was not only extremely healthy but incredibly quick. We only have AC in the bedroom, I’m talking lightning speed here. Ludicrous speed.

I little while ago I saw this recipe for mango slaw on Smitten Kitchen, and it was starred in my Google Reader along with 98% of her other recipes. But as I re-read the recipe tonight I discovered that there were only two steps: Chop. Toss. Ingredients: vegetables. Dinner: done.

I didn’t expect much from this recipe as I was making it, except that it would complete in under 5 minutes so I could rush back to my computer and see if Alex really stole Ed’s pea puree (I will never get over the pea puree. “Where’s my pea puree? Have you seen the pea puree?” What is it with Top Chef and peas, anyway? I miss Carla.) But as I took my first bit into the sweet, sour, spicy, and crunchy mix I just couldn’t stop. The flavors combined in the most amazing way, each ingredient maintaining its own personality that was the necessary compliment of everything else. If that even makes sense.

Just make this slaw. It makes you feel like a million bucks when you are watching people on TV create gourmet meals and you aren’t sitting there with a bowl of Ramen.

Mango Coleslaw (Serves 1 -2, adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

1/4 head of cabbage, finely sliced

1/4 onion, finely sliced

1/2 green pepper, finely sliced

1 mango, julienned

1/4 cup crushed cashews

Juice of 1/2 a lemon

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/4 cup rice vinegar

Salt and pepper

Combine all ingredients in a giant bowl and toss together.

I told you it was that easy. Easy like Peggy in Season 1 of Mad Men. Oh man, I need to stop watching so much TV.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 7:25 am

    I hope you feel better soon. At least you have yummy food to eat πŸ™‚

  2. August 12, 2010 9:42 am

    I had no idea that there was a new season of Top Chef! Apparently I’ve been living under a rock. I REALLY need to catch up now. I’m 2 months behind!

  3. August 12, 2010 5:44 pm

    Looks delicious my dear. I saw that recipe and licked my lips as well. And this season of Top Chef just sucks. Not good at all.

  4. August 13, 2010 6:14 am

    Hehe, that is easy! But it looks DELICIOUS! I have just about 1/4th of a cabbage left, too! πŸ™‚ Smitten Kitchen recipes are always wonderful!

    Have a great weekend, Sophie!

  5. August 13, 2010 8:44 am

    I can’t believe Ed is still there – it was so obvious he stole the pea puree! I can’t stand him. But your mango cole slaw I love! Hope you’re feeling better.

  6. August 17, 2010 10:45 am

    hope you’re already feeling better! this slaw is delicious, i just made it, too πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. I’ve Been Missing Out For Years… « I Dream of Greenie

Leave a Reply

