Skip to content

Tomato, Mozzarella, and Basil Quesadillas

August 24, 2010

As excited I am for fall to come along (I just bought a new jacket from Modcloth that I am in love with!) there is a little part of me that is holding on to summer for dear life. It is not for the vast array of produce currently available to me, or the summer recipes I have not made, or the fact that it is not as fun to drink a margarita in the snow (or is it?!). It is for the tomatoes.

Ever since I was a baby I’ve loved tomatoes. They have forever been my favorite “fruit” (I feel strange calling them a fruit, since I actually don’t like fruit all that much, and feel that they are much more of a vegetable, but I am aware by now that they are in fact a fruit but I will only go so far as to call them that in quotations). They are so much my favorite that I continue to eat them through the winter, when they are white and taste like water, but I cannot imagine a salad or a sandwich without a tomato. That would be sadder than the state of the tomato itself. But tomatoes at the end of August….OMFG.

As August has turned to Boston and said “Hey! I’m actually October!” the past couple of days, I decided that I must make one last tomato-centric summer dinner, before August really does become October and I’ve forgotten to give my favorite “fruit” its yearly grand sendoff. And what better way to showcase tomatoes than with fresh mozzarella and basil, plain, simple, and divinely melty? There is not much more you need with this than a pinch of salt. And possibly a margarita.

Tomato, Mozzarella, and Basil Quesadillas


Flour tortillas (leftover from my homemade ones!)

August ripe tomatoes, thinly sliced

Fresh mozzarella, thinly sliced

Fresh basil, washed and chopped

Sea salt

Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat. Place a flour tortilla in the pan. On half of the tortilla, put a layer of the mozzarella, then a layer of tomatoes, some salt, a layer of basil, and another layer of mozzarella. Fold the tortilla in half.

Heat until the bottom layer of mozzarella is melted. Then flip and do the same for the other side.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 5:27 pm

    Modcloth used to take half my paycheck a week. Love this recipe!

  2. August 24, 2010 5:27 pm

    So often I think of quesadillas as being mexican, but I love unique twists on it too! This sounds so wonderful. I also love dessert quesadillas with melty ooey gooey chocolate in them!! 🙂

  3. August 24, 2010 6:27 pm

    I love the idea of a tomato, mozzarella, and basil quesadilla-gotta give that a try!

  4. Lauren permalink
    August 24, 2010 6:36 pm

    Ahhh I love the recipe AND the coat!

  5. August 24, 2010 6:56 pm

    Sooooo not ready to send off tomatoes. Sigh.

    I love perusing Modcloth, but I’ve never bought anything from it!

  6. August 24, 2010 7:00 pm

    What a great twist on quesadillas! I love making quesadillas for a quick, tasty meal, and am always looking for new variations.

  7. August 24, 2010 9:42 pm

    Why have I never heard of modcloth before? I love this jacket…especially the detailing at the collar. Are those grommets (sp?)? So cute.

    I love tomatoes too…I only wish I could find some good ones around here! I haven’t had much luck this summmer.

  8. August 25, 2010 12:47 am

    Oooh I never thought to make TMB quesadillas, but that seriously might be the perfect idea!! I’m totally craving them now! And oh how I love Modcloth!!! 🙂

  9. August 25, 2010 5:58 am

    I have used tomato, basil, and mozz in just about everything, but I never considered making a quesadilla. Awesome idea!

  10. August 25, 2010 7:57 am

    For a long time I was all about tomato flavors — salsa, pizza sauce, spaghetti sauce, etc — but not the actual tomatoes. It was a texture thing. I’m pretty much over it now and can even bite right into cherry tomatoes!

    This looks amazing, and I love that coat. I don’t know if it will be cold enough for me to wear something like that in Florida, though. I know I said I wouldn’t miss the cold and I will DEFINITELY not miss the snow but … I might miss fall fashion.

  11. August 25, 2010 8:40 am

    I love fresh tomatoes, and have been going through the same food anxiety: I need to eat all my summer favorites before they’re gone! namely, watermelon and blueberries–just havent gotten enough!

  12. September 3, 2010 10:03 pm

    A new fan, and a fellow tomato lover, I had to comment! I am not much of a fan of fruit either, but I love tomatoes! And, I just bought some lovely “looking” tomatoes here in the southern hemisphere (Argentina) to make a sauce, which was sadly lackluster, but I will enjoy it just the same. And dream of when basil comes into season and I can make myself a similar quesadilla. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

