Skip to content

White Bean Enchiladas with Salsa Verde

August 31, 2010

In my living room I still have hanging my new fall jacket and the two scarves I wore to work last week. Because it was cold. Because fall was coming.

Today, walking outside you could cut the air with a knife. Seriously, weather? Just when I’m ready to go and hunt for cans of pumpkin down the grocery aisle, you come back from the Bahamas and bring the humidity with you. I guess I shouldn’t complain. It will probably be snowing here sooner than I’d like to admit.

So what do I do when a sudden blast of heat reminds me that yes, it is before Labor Day, and yes, technically it is still OK for me to wear my white pants to work?

Make Mexican.

I’m actually pretty pleased by this sudden turn of heat-related events, since I’ve been wanting to try a lighter white and green enchilada that probably would not be appropriate when pumpkin spice lattes are abound (but really…they’re back!!). These enchiladas lack the heaviness many other enchiladas have: no meat, no tomato sauce. Just a smidge of cheese. Even though I enjoy a tomato-cheese induced coma as much as the next girl, these enchiladas were almost…refreshing! The salsa verde has such a tang from the tomatillos its made with and, is perfectly paired with the creaminess of the mixture inside. I may even dub these my favorite enchiladas to date. Plus, they only take 30 minutes to make, and no slaving over the stove necessary. Perfect for when its 90* outside.

White Bean Enchiladas with Salsa Verde


5 flour tortillas (or homemade corn crepes)

1 can white beans (such as navy or cannellini), drained and rinsed

1 tin of chopped green chilis

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon cumin

2 tablespoons sour cream

1 jar salsa verde (or homemade…recipe to come!)

1/2 cup jack cheese (or Mexican cheese mix)

Preheat oven to 400*

In a bowl, mash together the white beans, chopped chilis, garlic powder, cumin, and sour cream until the mixture is combined yet still chunky.

In the bottom of an oven proof dish, pour about 1/3 cup of the salsa verde and spread so a thin layer covers it.

One at a time, take a flour tortilla and spoon 1/5 of the bean mixture in a line down the center. Roll up the tortilla and place in the pan with the salsa verde. Repeat with the 4 remaining tortillas, lining the rolled up ones side by side.

Pour 1 cup (or more if you like) of the salsa verde over the rolled up tortillas. Sprinkle with the cheese.

Cover the dish with foil and bake for 20 minutes, or until the cheese is bubbling and the filling is hot. Enjoy with a cool salad.

I just realized that these are also “Before Labor Day White Pant Friendly”. No glaring tomato sauce stains here. +1 point, white bean enchiladas!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 9:50 pm

    Yum! I agree this weather has been crazy. I went to the mall last week while it was cold and bought a couple sweaters. I’m actually bummed I haven’t been able to wear them yet since the heat came back. Oh well, I’ll get to wear them soon enough. I am excited about all the pumpkin baking/cooking I’ll be doing soon enough!

  2. August 31, 2010 10:37 pm

    These looks delicious Sophie! I had no idea that enchiladas could be so simple. I need to try this.

    I am wearing a jacket right now…the weather in LA is nuts too.

  3. September 1, 2010 7:19 am

    Yeah, the weather has been wacky here too.

    I love green enchiladas!!

  4. September 1, 2010 7:34 am

    These look amazing…and so easy!

    I want pumpkin.

  5. September 1, 2010 8:49 am

    All this talk of FALL in the blog world! I can’t take it….and dont believe it… I just went for a 2 mile run and am STILL sweating 20 minutes later.

    The enchiladas look great!

  6. September 3, 2010 7:11 pm

    these sound fabulous!!

  7. September 20, 2010 12:08 pm

    these look deeeelicious! bookmarked. thanks 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention White Bean Enchiladas with Salsa Verde « Yumventures -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

