Skip to content

Chicken Parmesan

September 7, 2010

Life is funny sometimes. Just a few weeks after I declared my distaste for Italian food I craved one thing: chicken parmesan.

I recently saw chicken parm on a menu and couldn’t stop thinking about it. One of those times I get a serious gluten craving and just can’t shake it. While I have tried to convince myself before that it would taste the same without the meat being covered in crispy breadcrumbs, it just doesn’t. There’s something about the marinara and mozzarella cheese melting into those breadcrumbs that really makes chicken parmesan so special. Even without being served atop a bowl of pasta or in a freshly baked roll, that cheesy tomato-y meat can really do me in.

Through many a gatrological endeavor I’ve learned something important: always give in to your cravings.

I set out to make a healthy, gluten free chicken parmesan, and feel like I’ve found a great answer. The chicken, coated in gluten free breadcrumbs and baked crisp in the oven, the pasta replaced by ribboned zucchini, just barely steamed. The zucchini is a refreshing replacement for heavier pasta, which makes it go so well with the rich chicken. In my eyes, they were the perfect combination, leaving you satisfied, comforted, and not overly full.

Chicken Parmesan


2 chicken cutlets

1 egg white

1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I made mine from gluten free bread)

1 cup tomato sauce

1 cup mozzarella cheese

1 zucchini

Preheat oven to 400*. Place a wire rack on top of a cookie sheet.

Take your chicken cutlets, one at a time, and dip them first in the egg white, then coat with the breadcrumbs. Place on the wire rack and bake for 20 minutes, or until the chicken has cooked through.

While the chicken is cooking, peel your zucchini. Then, with the peeler, begin to peel into the zucchini flesh, creating ribbons that will be your noodles. Peel all the way around until you reach the core of the seeds. Discard (or eat!) them.

Put the zucchini ribbons in a pot of water and bring to a boil for 2 – 3 minutes. Drain thoroughly, and even pat dry with a paper towel.

When the chicken is cooked, top each cutlet with 1/2 of the marinara sauce and 1/2 of the cheese. Turn the oven on to broil and put the chicken in until the cheese is golden and bubbly.

Serve chicken atop the zucchini noodles.

The perfect way to begin fall. At least that is what I’m considering the day after Labor Day.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 8:38 am

    This sounds goooood! I wasn’t sure how to cook zuchini noodles. Thanks for the instructions.

  2. September 8, 2010 8:54 am

    my brother is a fean for chicken parm! this looks like a healthier version for him!

  3. September 8, 2010 3:40 pm

    I consider it Fall now too! 😉

    This chicken parm looks sooooooo good!! 🙂 I’ll have to try it out the GF way for Andrew!! 🙂

  4. September 8, 2010 4:58 pm

    Ooh, I can’t remember the last time i had chicken parm… love the zucchini noodles with it 🙂

  5. September 9, 2010 10:01 am

    I love healthified dishes, and this one looks amazing!

  6. September 9, 2010 6:10 pm

    I love, love, love chicken parm! 🙂 It’s not classic Italian…so maybe you don’t like real Italian? 🙂 I never saw chicken once on a menu in Italy, so funny! I was shocked! The zucchini ribbons are beautiful…I’ve never made ribbons from zucchini, but sure will!

  7. September 9, 2010 10:18 pm

    Yum, yum! I randomly crave chicken parm, too! It’s so random, but once it’s in my head, I can’t stop thinking about it! This looks wonderful 🙂

  8. September 9, 2010 11:14 pm

    I love chicken parm too – it’s just such a yummy comforting dish! Looks perfect with those zucchini noodles!

Leave a Reply

