Skip to content

Mushroom Burgers with Spicy Red Pepper Sauce

September 9, 2010

I keep going back and forth between “I’m happy its fall” and “I’m sad summer is gone”.

I’m happy its fall: fall clothes are way better than summer clothes, books > flip flops. The crisp air. Back to school. Leaves changing color. Apples and pumpkin. No more humidity! Halloween: the greatest holiday of them all.

I’m sad summer is gone: No more beach days, no more summer Fridays. No chance of snow or having to bring a sweater out at night. No reason its ok to have a margarita on a Tuesday. No more being laid back…its back to the grindstone.

However, I have to say that I am happier for fall to be around the corner. I will actually get to wear my new fall jacket, and with classes back in session it is much easier to agree to sit through two evening of lectures when everyone else isn’t sitting out on a restaurant patio enjoying the warm night air. It was cold last night, and for the first time a sweater would have really come in handy.

When it comes to food there are definitely ways to combine the best of both worlds. Something comforting and hearty for the sight breeze in the air but still with the freshness of summer produce. And also something you can eat with your hands. A definite summer must-have.

This recipe from Bon Appetit is a true winner, with the earthy flavor of portobellos mixed with the summer fun of a burger. The mushroom patty is soft and oh-so-flavorful, and could easily be eaten on its own to savor every crumb. The red pepper adobo sauce is a real treat…just make sure you have a glass of water next to you. It is spiiiiiicy, and amazing.

Mushroom Burgers with Spicy Red Pepper Sauce (adapted from Bon Appetit)

For the burgers:

1 pint baby bella mushrooms, sliced

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 cloves garlic

1 egg

1 tablespoon parmesan cheese

1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

For the Spicy Red Pepper Sauce:

1 red pepper

1 Thai chili pepper

2 tablespoons sour cream

2 cloves garlic

To Serve:

Flatbread or burger buns

Lettuce

Tomato

Sour cream

To make the burgers: saute mushrooms in olive oil until they begin to crisp along the edges, about 10 minutes. Add garlic and cook for 2 more minutes. Put in food processor and pulse a few times. Add the rest of the ingredients except for the breadcrumbs and process. Put mixture into a bowl and add the breadcrumbs. Shape into patties (I made 3 large ones) and put in a Pam sprayed skillet. Cook on each side, carefully flipping, until nice and crisp.

To make the sauce: char the red pepper by either turning it over a gas flame or placing under the broiler andΒ  turning every few minutes until the skin is black. Remove skin, cut pepper in half, remove seeds, and place in food processor. Add rest of ingredients and process until smooth.

Serve the burger on flatbread or a bun (I used homemade gluten free flatbread) topped with the pepper sauce, along with a smear of sour cream, a slice of lettuce, and a tomato. Enjoy!

This was heaven. Z even liked a veggie burger. And all is right in the world.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2010 9:57 pm

    I go back and forth on it too. These look awesome– I love mushrooms.

  2. September 9, 2010 11:15 pm

    I’m a big fan of mushrooms and red peppers together – looks delicious! I’m ready for fall πŸ™‚

  3. September 10, 2010 6:44 am

    I’m totally doing the same thing– Going back and forth between being happy it’s almost fall and being sad summer is almost over.

    These look awesome! I love portobello burgers, so I’m pretty sure I’d love something like this too!

  4. September 10, 2010 7:20 am

    I love portabella mushroom sandwiches. I never thought to turn them into burgers this way!

  5. September 10, 2010 7:42 am

    I miss the length of the summer days. I’m hating waking up in the dark 😦

    I am excited for apple picking though!

  6. September 10, 2010 9:55 am

    Oh my sweet Lord…these look absolutely delicious! Great recipe, great photos, great great great! I hope you’re doing well, Soph!

  7. September 10, 2010 1:06 pm

    I’ve never made my own mushroom burgers before, but these look awesome! Perfect almost-fall food. Yum!

    • September 13, 2010 9:39 pm

      They are definitely delicious! I kind of want to make them again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

