Skip to content

Quinoa Zucchini Lasagna

September 13, 2010

Sundays are my all-time favorite day to cook, especially in the fall. They remind me of days in the 6th grade, when I would spend the day raking leaves or hiking in the park and then come home to an afternoon movie while my Mom cooked dinner for the evening. The house would be enveloped in warmth and sauteed onions, cuddling me on the couch. It didn’t matter what meal we were having, but the Sunday night ritual of dinner table pajamas and the promise of school in the morning is something I’ll never forget.

Yesterday was a day like this, and ended up being a day I missed home. And missed being 11. Actually, make that 8, 11 was such an awkward age.

Despite the excessive amounts of cleaning I should have been doing or the stacks of reading that are currently sitting next to my laptop due for class on Wednesday, I wanted to cook one of those warming meals that you could smell throughout your house, that would make me want to curl up in its steam and make a bed for myself next to the stove.

So Z made marinara sauce, which bubbled away for 2 hours and was thoroughly distracting with the scent of fresh tomatoes and basil. I cooked up the quinoa, so thick and creamy with the addition of cream cheese that I could have eaten the whole pot just standing there. And then the zucchini, bright green and begging to be eaten, please it was picked before the first frost. The recipe came from Mama Pea, who I see as the queen of healthy comfort cooking, and boy did it impress. And to top it off, the vegetarian-ness was destroyed with the accompaniment of the best steak tips I’ve ever had, complimentary samples from The Meat House that just opened in Coolidge Corner.

Quinoa Zucchini Lasagna (Adapted from Peas and Thank You)

2 large zucchinis

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

1 cups chicken stock

1/2 cup tomato sauce

1/4 cup finely chopped onion

1 teaspoon Italian seasoning

1/4 cup freshly chopped parsley

2 tablespoons light cream cheese

Salt and pepper

1.5 cups marinara sauce

1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 400*

Chop the top and bottom off of the zucchini and slice each one the long way into 6 pieces. These will be your noodles. Lay the zucchini on a paper towel, sprinkle with salt, put another paper towel on top, and let them sit while the water is released.

Combine the rinsed quinoa, chicken stock, tomato sauce, and onion in a pan. Bring to a boil, lower the heat, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.

When the quinoa is done cooking, add the cream cheese and parsley and mix thoroughly.

Wipe the zucchini clean of any excess moisture.

In an 8×8 dish, pour 1/2 cup of marinara sauce. Put 4 slices of zucchini, one next to the other. Top with a layer of the quinoa and 1/3 cup of marinara sauce.

Repeat: zucchini, quinoa, marinara.

Add the final zucchini, top with marinara, and top that with the cheese. Bake in the oven for 20 – 30 minutes, or until everything is heated through and the cheese is bubbly.

I just have to say, I’ve had my failure of vegetarian and zucchini lasagna before. But this stayed together perfectly. It was vegetarian lasagna heaven. The 8 year old in me went to bed warm and happy inside. And I’m pretty sure the 11 year old me would have been quite pleased too.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 10:14 pm

    Note to self: get zucchini! I bookmarked this as soon as I saw it on MamaPeas’ blog too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. September 14, 2010 12:40 am

    Awesome! I think it’s my life goal to add quinoa to everything I possibly can. Why not, right??? This sounds wonderful!

  3. September 14, 2010 8:17 am

    Z MADE marina sauce? Color me impressed.

    This looks amazing! I’m a little ashamed to admit I’ve never made quinoa.

  4. September 14, 2010 8:27 am

    Ahhh, I remember wanting to make this when I saw it on Mama Pea…and now I want to make it even more! Yum!

  5. September 14, 2010 8:31 am

    oh i love this! a great gluten-free lasagna with one of my favorite grains.. not to mention zucchini. my fave!

  6. September 14, 2010 9:18 am

    I made this too! I loved this recipe!

  7. September 14, 2010 12:51 pm

    I loved this recipe! I had to make it the second I saw it on PaTY too!

  8. September 14, 2010 8:27 pm

    this has been on my list to make!! glad you’ve been able to squeeze in some cooking ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. December 15, 2012 2:55 am

    Gnomes are gentle and powerful beings created by Elohim,
    who range in size from three-inch-high elves, to three-foot
    dwarfs, to the mighty giants known as the mountain kings and queens.
    Once again, there are many patters and designs of tiles available to choose from.

    Here are five steps to lead you through this process:
    .

  10. December 16, 2012 4:45 am

    It’s not my first time to go to see this web page, i am browsing this site dailly and take good information from here daily.

  11. April 16, 2013 9:10 am

    This is my first time go to see at here and i am actually happy to read everthing at alone place.

  12. April 24, 2013 9:24 pm

    I always spent my half an hour to read this web site’s articles everyday along with a mug of coffee.

  13. May 9, 2013 2:16 am

    I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping to check out the same high-grade content from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own website now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  14. October 3, 2014 2:47 pm

    The main difference between semi-custom and custom cabinets are
    not available in your kitchen. It is really essential to be
    practical nowadays so choosing a product with the same question:
    Should I start from scratch or just update what I have?
    Step 3 – corrected Before undertaking the work to install
    kitchen cabinets of an irregular shape, unusual storage needs,
    sketch a floor plan.

Leave a Reply

