Skip to content

Lentil Okra Masala

September 16, 2010

The semester is back in full swing. Remember that scene in You’ve Got Mail when Tom Hanks comments how wonderful the fall is, swooning Meg Ryan with the offer to send her a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils? 1-800-FLOWERS should definitely get their hands on that. There really is nothing like a delivery of school supplies. The sweet smell of shaved wood and pink rubber erasers.

Being a student for the first time in 3.5 years definitely has its challenges. Some mornings I wake up ready to walk past Hendrick’s Chapel on the Syracuse quad or have the urge to take a study break down to M-Street. I scour AIM for friends to distract me. Lucky for them they deleted AIM when they put away their graduation caps. I sit and ponder new ways to redecorate our apartment or update my wardrobe now that I am making a paycheck. There’s even an Urban Outfitters down the street. Have mercy.

My favorite form of distraction over the past year, while Z was mulling over his books, was cooking. Great, extravagant recipes on a Tuesday night! But if I did that tonight I would have to stay up way past my bedtime working and not have a chance to watch last week’s Mad Men. And Z would give me the death glare when I complain that I still have so much work to do after an hour at the stove. So while cooking is still my favorite hobby, my menus are becoming quicker.

Last nights dinner was perfect for one of those “I have so much work to do!” nights. Literally adding ingredients to a pot, letting it cook for 25 minutes, adding a few more things, and eating. I was at the stove for a total of 5 minutes. But it sure didn’t taste like it. The dish was warm and sinfully comforting, calling for a cozy sweater and a fireplace or a middle schooler who just returned from a late fall soccer practice. The spices muddle beautifully with the rich lentils, and the okra adds pop and texture.

Lentil and Okra Masala (Adapted from Veggie by Season)

1 small onion, diced
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup dry lentils
3 cups chicken or vegetable stock
1 cup tomato sauce
2 teaspoons curry powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon paprika
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 lb okra, chopped
Plain yogurt to serve

In a pot, fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil until soft, about 5 minutes.

Add the lentils and stock. Bring to a simmer, then cover and reduce heat. Cook for 25 minutes or until lentils are soft and liquid has absorbed.

Add the tomato sauce, spices, and okra. Adjust spices to your liking.

Serve topped with plain yogurt, and naan if you like!

A simple, filling, gorgeous one-dish meal that would look beautiful next to my bouquet of #2s.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 6:24 am

    When my husband and I started dating, he gave me a bouquet of freshly sharpened pencils because he knew how much I loved that movie πŸ™‚ I think I actually got more excited about that than my engagement ring, ha!

    Well, maybe not. πŸ™‚

    This looks delicious!

    • September 16, 2010 6:32 pm

      That may be the cutest story ever. Or even better, pencil bouquet with a ring IN it πŸ™‚ I love that movie too, one of the ones I always watch if I catch it on TBS

  2. September 16, 2010 7:51 am

    I feel like a rare breed because I do not miss anything about school. haha!

    • September 16, 2010 6:31 pm

      LOL, I am quickly learning that I didn’t miss school one bit!!

  3. September 16, 2010 10:24 am

    I LOVE school supply shopping! I go crazy in office supply stores, I think I need everything. Loved this meal, yours looks delish!

    • September 16, 2010 6:31 pm

      Thanks Ashlee, and thanks for the recipe! πŸ™‚

  4. September 16, 2010 8:26 pm

    Oooh I’ve never cooked with okra before, but I’ve been seeing it everywhere and totally want to!! Um, and my bf totally gives me the death glare when I claim I have to stay up until 1 a.m. working. And I’m not even in school! Good luck πŸ™‚

  5. September 21, 2010 10:48 pm

    Mmm, the spices in this look so warm and comforting. I’ve never cooked with okra before but it’s on my list.

  6. November 17, 2010 7:58 pm

    some office supplies are low quality that is why you should always check your store if they offer high quality products ~;~

Leave a Reply

