Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cake Cookies

September 17, 2010

I love to bake.

Most people wouldn’t believe it. Because A) I hardly ever bake, and B) baking isn’t necessarily creative, and I have creative juice pouring out my eyeballs. But I can’t even count the number of “I’m going to wing it” meals that I’ve failed at, testing and trying something to adjust the dish and the taste, trying to be creative and throwing it in the garbage. Baking is a science, an exact combination of flour, soda, powder, sugar, salt. No ifs, ands, or buts. That’s what makes baking so gratifying. When I follow a recipe exactly I am always given perfection. Every time. Never fail. The times I fail are when I try to mess with the recipe, substituting one flavor for another, or something to lower the sugar content and make a recipe healthier. Then I get soap flavored brownies.

But is it any surprise with my eyeballs gushing glittery rainbow creativity that I wouldn’t try to mix things up once in a while?

This past weekend I just wanted to eat cookies. Being gluten free I don’t really eat cookies all that often, but the winter hibernation bear is grumbling inside me and requesting something warm and gooey with maybe some chocolate involved. I have to do what the bear says or he’ll eat me.

So cookies it was. But Z and I are also on to a pretty great workout routine, and we didn’t want to mess everything up by eating an entire batch of buttery cookies on Saturday night. Along come the good ole substitutions. Its always a risk when baking, to try to sub out butter for vegetables, oil for yogurt. But I figured I had nothing much to lose, except for a batch of cookies. And it was raining outside. And I was bored.

That night I learned an important lesson: substituting apple sauce for butter in cookies makes them into cookie cakes. Instead of thin and crispy cookies you get puffy of cookie wonderfulness, soft and moist on the inside. And that, in my mind, makes life a whole lot better.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cake Cookies (adapted from Baking Beauties)

3/4 cup apple sauce
1 cups brown sugar (packed)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup flour (I used 3/4 gluten free flour and 1/4 corn starch mixed)
1/4 tsp xanthan gum (leave out if you use regular flour)
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 cup oats
1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350*

Mix together apple sauce and sugar. Add egg and vanilla.

In separate bowl, combine flour, xanthan gum, baking powder and baking soda

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients.

Add oats and chocolate chips and stir until combined.

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper and scoop out portions of the cookie mix, about 2 tablespoons of mix per cookie. Shape into a general cookie size and shape, as they puff up more than they spread out.

Bake for 12 minutes.

Happy cookies = happy bear. Mission accomplished.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 6:35 am

    Are these gluten free? I want them! I want their puffy goodness.

  2. September 18, 2010 9:10 pm

    They look wonderful! I’ve never had an issue subbing applesauce for oil, either! YUM!

  3. September 19, 2010 8:07 am

    These look delicious — I’d love to try making these for my sister, who does not eat gluten.

  4. September 19, 2010 11:42 am

    Oooh what a good idea! I love substituting oil for apple sauce in cake, but never considered butter for apple sauce in cookies! They do look super fluffy and delicious!

    • September 20, 2010 5:59 pm

      I couldn’t believe how fluffy and cakey they were! A definite must try if you’re looking for a good mix-up

  5. September 19, 2010 8:03 pm

    Yum, those cookies look really good- super moist too!

  6. September 20, 2010 11:11 am

    these look great! love that they’re GF!

  7. September 23, 2010 3:36 pm

    I thought you didn’t bake because C) you don’t have much of a sweet tooth, says yourself! I, on the other hand, will not turn down a cookie, cakey or crispy, gluten-full or not 🙂

Leave a Reply

