Skip to content

Quinoa, Sweet Potato, and Spinach Bowl

September 20, 2010

Sometimes it takes a lot of motivation to make dinner on a weeknight. I demonstrated that to myself last week. With classes until 10 pm, group projects, and the need to buy more paper towels after work, I came home with no desire to set foot in the kitchen.

The first day this happens I am happy to order dinner out. The second day I’m happy to try someplace new. The fourth I cannot consciously eat something else out of a Styrofoam box. For my own health or that of the environment.

This just goes to show that I’m not without my flaws, so matter how “easy” I tell people it is to whip up a quick meal every night, in truth the recipe also comes with a dash of inspiration and a cup of try. Subtract Kraft singles and Lean Cuisine.  Which hopefully equals negative bags under my eyes and pimples on my chin. I don’t care if its fact or fiction, Mount Everest over here believes that too much junk food just leads to breakouts.

Tonight I have a class online, which is nice that I can sit around in my pjs and eat dinner at my desk instead of in a classroom 45 minutes away. It also means that I had an hour at home to make dinner to eat without a plastic fork or a to-go bag.

Whats nice about this type of recipe is its total versatility. Make all of the elements ahead of time, then throw them in a pot to heat them up. Switch up the grains and vegetables. Then sit back and learn about supply and demand curves. At least my stomach understands.

Quinoa, Sweet Potato, and Spinach Bowl


1 small onion, chopped

1 cup quinoa, rinsed

2 cups chicken or vegetable stock

2 sweet potato, chopped into 1/2 inch cubes

1 tablespoon olive oil

Salt and pepper

1/2 box frozen spinach, thawed

2 oz goat cheese

Preheat oven to 400*

Toss sweet potato with olive oil, salt and pepper. Put on a baking sheet in the oven for 30 minutes, stirring once or twice after 20 minutes.

In a pot, saute the onion in a little more olive oil until soft. Add the quinoa and stock and bring to a boil. Turn down the heat, cover with a lid, and simmer for 20 – 25 minutes.

Once the quinoa is cooked and has absorbed all of the stock, add in the spinach and cook until warm. Remove potatoes from the oven and add them to the mix.

Serve in bowls and top with goat cheese, which you can mix in until it melts and becomes creamy.

I totally get supply and demand curves now. This is what I call brain food!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 7:37 pm

    So healthy and SO yummy!! 🙂 I get really excited about recipes with quinoa!!

  2. September 20, 2010 9:04 pm

    Oh man, I remember my days of class till 10 and then coming home starvinggg. I usually resorted to pasta 🙂 Then I learned it’s important to have meals ready to go in the fridge or freezer! This looks completely awesome!!

  3. September 21, 2010 3:43 am

    Isn’t it funny that out of all the things you have to do, getting paper towels is always the most stressful? It is for me when I’m busy anyway. I’ll seriously stress over the paper towels more than anything else.
    This bowl sounds yummy. I have brown rice, spinach, and a sweet potato on hand. I could use brown rice instead right? Thanks Sophie!

  4. September 21, 2010 10:15 pm

    you’ve got some of my favorites in there 🙂 glad you were able to get a chance to cook… and go to class in your pjs if so desired!

  5. September 21, 2010 10:45 pm

    What a healthy and tasty meal! And yay for sweet potatoes – hope you’re able to find time to cook this week 🙂

  6. September 22, 2010 2:16 pm

    I like this idea a lot. I have some quinoa in my cupboard that’s been there for a while, so maybe this will inspire me to finally make it.

  7. September 22, 2010 2:55 pm

    I;ve read that the taste or smell of cinnamon help you to memorize things. Coincidentally I would chew packs upon packs of cinnamon gum while studying. Maybe you could sprinkle some cinnamon on top of that gorgeous bowl?

  8. September 22, 2010 9:14 pm

    I’ve been craving quinoa, and this recipe will HIT THE SPOT! I love food that is as equally delish as it is pretty!

  9. April 24, 2013 8:30 am

    Hiya! I just wish to give an enormous thumbs up for the great data you have right here on
    this post. I might be coming again to your blog for
    more soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Work Bowl Cover

Leave a Reply

