Skip to content

White and Green Crockpot Chili

September 25, 2010

I have fallen in love with my new best friend: the crock pot.

For our anniversary, Z bought be a giant crock pot. Unlike most girls who shiver at the thought of getting home appliances for special occasions, with this I was thrilled. I had been asking for one for months! If diamonds are a girl’s best friend, the crock pot is a girl’s own personal chef. Love at first sight, if you ask me. Z sure knows the way to my heart.

Though I thoroughly enjoy spending time in my tiny and counter-space-less kitchen, coming home at 10:30 pm after a night of classes to cook dinner is something I would dread with all my heart, and in reality I would more than likely end up at the take out joint down the street. Or even worse, at a Burger King. (I kid…however, there is one in direct view from my living room window.)

But walking into my apartment after a 15 hour day to the smell of chili that has been cooking all day, letting the spices marinade and the meat tenderize, is nothing short of a miracle. I may have slightly burnt my lips after kissing the glass lid, thanking Mrs. Crock Pot for saving me from low blood sugar and the $3.99 Steakhouse burger, but it was worth it.

I adapted this recipe from Eat, Live, Run. It worked wonderfully in the crock pot with some ground chicken instead of a whole breast, and the sour cream adds a tang that is so unique and delicious that I found myself licking the bowl after dinner. This chili didn’t even need the usual toppings of cheese and a side of cornbread, because it was perfection in itself.

White and Green Crockpot Chili (adapted from Eat, Live, Run)

1 lb ground chicken

1 medium onion, chopped

1 T vegetable oil

2 cans cannellini beans

14.5 ounces chicken broth

2 4-ounce cans chopped green chilies

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp cayenne

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup milk

8 ounce reduced fat sour cream

Add all of the ingredients except for the milk and sour cream into your crock pot. Stir to combine and cook on low for 8 – 9 hours.

When you are ready to eat, mix in the milk and sour cream and warm the mixture up. Serve!

Please excuse my chipped bowl. I got a little too excited about dinner.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2010 4:50 am

    Sounds delicous! We’ve had a crockpot for a year, but are just starting to use it now. It’s definitely a lifesaver. It also makes good pulled pork!

  2. September 26, 2010 4:40 pm

    I keep seeing yummy crockpot recipes and really need to get one – this looks so tasty and easy!

  3. September 26, 2010 7:37 pm

    ah, my seldom used crockpot. every time i use it i say i need to use it more, and then i forget again for awhile… hopefully i’ll remember more, b/c this looks awesome!!

  4. September 26, 2010 10:25 pm

    This looks beautiful… And now I totally need a crockpot. For my first birthday with Chris, he really wanted to get me a butcher block unit, but everyone told him “no way! you can’t get a kitchen appliance for your girlfriend’s birthday!!” The only person who actually told him he should get it for me was Chelsee 🙂 He didn’t listen to her and got my a necklace instead. Still lovely, but I would have LOVED a butcher block 🙂

  5. September 27, 2010 11:58 am

    crockpots can be a time (and a life!) saver!

  6. September 27, 2010 8:04 pm

    Well, when it comes to getting appliances as a gift I would pick one for the kitchen any day! A vacuum, on the other hand? ick.

    I need to get my crockpot back into action, it’s always a great night when I get home and don’t have to cook. Hope school is going well!

  7. September 30, 2010 6:42 pm

    This looks great! I love getting appliances from my husband too 🙂 And my crockpot is definitely one of my best friends. Besides said husband, that is.

  8. October 19, 2010 1:13 pm

    I’ve made this THREE times in the last month. Love, love, LOOOOOOOOVE it!!!!

  9. Stacey permalink
    January 22, 2014 10:52 am

    Two questions. Do u rinse and drain the beans? Do u cook the ground chicken first?

Leave a Reply

