Skip to content

Chicken Fajitas

September 27, 2010

Cumin is definitely my all-time favorite spice. Just by opening the jar I am enveloped in a warm puff of brown smoke, flown to an exotic land that is a direct contrast to Boston’s cold, drizzly day.

Foodie confession: I use cumin in everything.

From a rustic vegetarian chili, to a spicy Indian curry, to some salmon I’m just throwing on the grill, just a little (or a lot?) of cumin adds such a depth of flavor and fun that you really can’t go wrong. I’ve been known to go on cumin overload, dumping almost half my jar into whatever is simmering in the pan. But honestly, it just makes the dish better.

My Mom was visiting for the day yesterday and suggested I try serving up some of her quick and easy weeknight fajitas. When I realized that one of the five ingredients (and only spice) was cumin I knew that these sizzling babies were going to be on the menu. They didn’t disappoint. I threw them together in less than 20 minutes, perfect timing between Z coming home and my online class starting. And with just a few accompaniments of fresh salsa verde and a dollop of sour cream, you don’t need all of the usual cheese and tomato shebang. You just savor the cumin and lime juice in all of its glory.

Chicken Fajitas


1 tablespoon olive oil

2 chicken breasts, sliced into 1″ strips

1 onion, sliced into 1″ strips

1 green pepper, sliced into 1″ strips

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 – 3 tablespoons of cumin

Juice of 1/2 a lime

Salt and pepper

Corn or flour tortillas, salsa verde, and sour cream to serve

Heat the oil in a non-stick pan. Add the onion, pepper, and garlic and cook until soft, about 10 minutes.

Add the chicken strips and cook until no longer pink in the middle, about 5 minutes.

Add the cumin and toss the chicken and vegetable mixture until everything is nicely coated and the cumin almost forms a paste. Add the lime juice and stir throughout.

Serve.

Lucky me, I have enough leftovers for fajita salad for lunch tomorrow! If only I could make a cumin salad dressing too.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 3:43 am

    I’ve never used cumin in anything. Do you believe that?! I’m not a fan of the spicy foods! I do like the sound of these fajitas though. I wish I had hot pans so when I served them, I could make them sizzle like they do in the restaurants. That would be fun! I’d probably just end up setting off the fire alarm and making my house smell like smoke though.

  2. September 28, 2010 4:00 am

    Cumin in a Chicken Fajitas Recipe? – great idea, I love it too! – can I put your recipe on my blog please?

  3. September 28, 2010 11:54 am

    Just the smell of cumin instantly makes me think of Mexican cuisine.
    … and then Indian cuisine
    …and then Lebanese cuisine.

  4. September 28, 2010 1:12 pm

    cumin is awesome, i’ve been using it alot more these days as well 🙂 i’m thinking of using it in a corn risotto…

  5. September 28, 2010 3:20 pm

    cumin is by far my favorite spice! i love how it’s so predominant in most all ethnic dishes.

  6. September 28, 2010 11:48 pm

    I have a cumin obsession too!! These chicken fajitas look fabulous. Simple and delicious 🙂

  7. October 3, 2010 11:12 pm

    Cumin is one of my very favorite spices too! What a yummy dinner. Hope you have a fabulous trip to Peru too!!

Leave a Reply

