Skip to content

Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas

June 28, 2010

I can’t believe another weekend is gone. I can’t believe its almost July.  I can’t believe both the US and England are out of the World Cup (…Go Argentina!). I can’t believe my Aunt is visiting for the 4th of July. And I can’t believe its been 4 months since I had my last Buffalo wing.

If you have been reading Yumventures since the beginning you know I have a sick obsession with Buffalo chicken. And I actually mean sick: on more than one occasion have I eaten Buffalo wings to the point of near stomach explosion. If my food belly actually had a baby it would definitely turn out neon orange.

My least favorite part about wings (gasp! there is a bad part?!) is that they are not very “healthy”. Deep fried skin-on chicken wings covered in butter and hot sauce isn’t necessarily a bowl of oatmeal.

Tonight I combined my love of Buffalo chicken with a healthier, home made alternative. The sauce still glowed that glorious orange, but instead of deep fried butter we had lightly poached tenders, shredded and mixed with creamy light sour cream in place of decadent blue cheese. We even had homemade flour tortillas (because Z has class late on Monday nights and when he isn’t home, the kitchen keeps me company) and a cool, refreshing lemon and avocado salad.

One bite and I was in Buffalo heaven. Which is funny, because I would never call Buffalo, NY heaven, except in this circumstance. Its too cold there.

Healthy Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas


For the Quesadillas:

5 chicken tenders

Salt and pepper

1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot Wing sauce

1/4 cup light sour cream

1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

2-3 large tortillas (I used home made gluten free, recipe to come!)

For the Salad:

1 head Romaine lettuce

1 avocado

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1 tablespoon white vinegar

2 tablespoons olive oil

Put the chicken tenders in a medium saucepan and cover with water, about an inch over the chicken. Season the water with salt and pepper. Bring to a boil then put the heat on low, cover the pot, and simmer for 10 minutes or until the chicken is no longer pink in the middle.

When the chicken is cooked, shred it using two forks. Put in a bowl with the hot sauce, sour cream, and cheese. Mix together thoroughly.

Heat a non-stick pan and add a tortilla. Spoon some of the chicken mixture onto half of it and fold the other half over. Press and cook until the chicken is heated through and the cheese has melted.

To make the salad, chop up the lettuce and avocado and toss in a bowl with the lemon juice, vinegar, and olive oil.


These would be great for the 4th. Red, white, blue, and Frank’s Red Hot Orange.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 6:41 am

    I’m not sure why, but quesadillas are a summer food to me. I like making my own healthy versions. These look great!

    • Lobrow6285 permalink
      June 4, 2012 10:54 am

      Melissa, what are some alternatives you use for a healthier version. I would love to try new ideas.

  2. June 29, 2010 8:55 am

    i really like quesedillas–which are one of my most missed food since going “very vegan.” 😦 Looks great though!!

  3. June 29, 2010 10:05 am

    These look awesome! And now I’m starving 🙂 My mom has actually always made her Buffalo wings baked instead of fried, and I’m telling you they’re just as good!! She’s from Buffalo, NY, so I’m thinking she learned from the best 🙂 And I agree, Buffalo is rarely ever heaven for me!

  4. June 29, 2010 10:22 am

    Awesome idea for a quesadilla!! I want to make these ASAP!! Thanks for the yummy idea!! 🙂

  5. June 29, 2010 11:08 am

    You read my mind…I was literally just thinking that I wanted to eat a buffalo chicken quesadilla…which is weird because I’ve 1. never had them and 2. never even really seen them on a menu anywhere. You’re clearly hitting it out of the park with your recipes lately! 🙂

  6. June 29, 2010 3:35 pm

    I know you love buffalo wing sauce because I do, too! I remember important things like this 🙂 I am definitely making these…hubby says thank you in advance 🙂

  7. June 29, 2010 4:24 pm

    Frank’s makes everything taste better. Seriously.

  8. June 29, 2010 10:55 pm

    ooh, i don’t like wings, but i have taken a liking to buffalo-flavored things recently and this sounds delicious 🙂

  9. June 30, 2010 5:14 pm

    Sounds delish! I like Buffalo Tender Sandwiches and Buffalo Tofu too!

  10. July 1, 2010 4:12 pm

    wow, I can’t wait to hear more about those homemade tortillas!

  11. Becca permalink
    July 23, 2010 8:00 pm

    Um, wow. Amazing!!! My boyfriend gave this a huge thumbs up and I totally agree! We dipped them in ranch (so mid-west, but how can you resist?) Thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks

  1. Datecation 2.0: Hot Wings and Hot Tub Time Machine
  2. Healthy and Delicious Buffalo Chicken Quesadillas | Twenty-Something and Broke
  3. Healthier Tailgating - Crab Dip Recipe and Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe - Jeanette's Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

